Hearty Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This recipe was just okay. Very bland. I doubled it and cooked it in the crockpot on high, and it was fully cooked in 5.5 hours. That said, the flour clumped slightly and even though I tried to add more seaoning it seemed very bland. I didn't have any bay leaves and that probably would have helped tremendously. While I didn't like the recipe, my fiance really enjoyed it. I agree with previous reviewers that this recipe is a good start but needs work on the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is a very good recipe. I followed the recipe perfectly, and mine turned out a bit soupy, so I added some cornstarch, and it worked out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NASCAR24FAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Thank you for sharing this recipe. It has such a good flavor! It must be the teriyaki sauce. I didn't use the bay leaf, and used less paprika. I did add more stock and used corn starch and water to thicken at the end of cooking the stew. This was the best beef stew I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great stew! I used left over pot roast instead of cubed stew beef and didn't use the mushrooms. Everything else was just right and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
it was a great hit. My whole family loved it. Was very easy to make made a few changes... no celery and no paprika.. but still very good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Very easy! Taste grest! One of the best beef stew recipes we have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This is a keeper! I wasn't a huge fan of beef stew UNITL I tried this recipe. I add a pkt of Lipton's dry onion soup, more of the vegetables and 3 - 14oz cans of beef broth instead of 2cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! We are a family of six, so I doubled everything. My four kids are picky eaters and they loved it they even had seconds, that made me happy. The only thing I changed was that I started dinner at 4pm so I didn't have 6 hours to cook. What I did was cook the meat 45 minutes on the stovetop with 4 cups water, garlic and onion. Then drained the water added the mixture to coat the meat, then added everything else as indicated in the receipe. And cooked it on medium heat for another 45 minutes. I made an easy 15 minute corn bread receipe. And dinner was on the table by 6:30pm. Thank you very much for the receipe, this is the first time I used this website. I will definitely pass this receipe on and use your website again for more receipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I thought this recipe was delicious I let it cook all day and it had a nice meaty thick broth which was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was pretty good, though I would add a bit more potatoes. Would give it 3.5 if it were an option. I also thought it was much better a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States