Hearty Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a wonderful starter recipe. Here is my variation, as well as some of the advice I followed by others... We were out of beef broth, so I used two beef granules in two and a half cups of water. I omitted the mushrooms and added chopped up green peppers. I also added an extra potato and more carrots. Because some complained about the potatoes not being done, I "par" cooked the potatoes in the microwave (2 minutes covered in water-drained and added) I was out of teriyaki sauce so I made a simple substitute--a little bit of cooking sherry, soy sauce, ginger, and garlic. It worked beautifully.. Also--to avoid the flour excess some spoke of, brown your stew meat in the 1/4 cup of flour before adding it to the crock pot. The spices I included were garlic, seasoning salt, a pack of onion soup mix, a pinch of ground cloves and patrika, salt and pepper. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica-Rabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I think that this turned out great! First of all, it was easy to make. Also, it was delicious!!! I am thinking of making this on Christmas! Thank you! -Laila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
The first time I made this stew it was exactly what I was looking for. I took the advice and added 1tbsp worchestershire sauce an extra 1/2c beef broth reduced the paprika to 1/4tsp and about 2tbsp of lipton's onion soup mix a 1/4 tsp both of salt & pepper I added a bay leaf and added about 2tbsp corn starch at the end to thicken it up. It was WONDERFUL husband loved it definitely will make again.-------- It's been 3 years now and this is one of my favorite recipies ever! I've perfected it I still do everything the same just upped the wocersershire sauce to 2 1/2 tblsp and I've always doubled the veggies. It's so important that you layer everything by how long it takes to cook. I put the meat on the bottom then the potatos then the carrots with the mushrooms and celery on top. The slower and longer you cook it the more tender and flavorful everything is. I LOVE this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My husband loved this. I made it on the stove and did not use the crock pot. It was delicious and I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
For my first beef stew, this recipe was easy and turned out great. However, I needed to add more spice for flavor. Great with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I don't know if it's my crockpot or what, but the potatoes definitely needed longer. I probably didn't cut them small enough. It was good, though, once it was finished. I should have started it earlier in the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
it was ok, but not so wonderful as some say. An ordinary beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Best Beef Stew I ever had, now I make this same receipe all the time, I add a sprinkle of curry, it gives the stew a bit of a zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This stew was really yummy! I added an extra cut of water, and used a couple of extra potatoes, as well as some barley. I also didn't add the paprika, but I did add a sprinkle of rosemary, oregano, and basil to give it a little more flavour. It was quick and flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Awsome...loved it even with an infection in my mouth. Beef was melt in you mouth good. Kids didn't like the onions or mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States