Hearty Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Excellent beef stew. My family loved the flavor. I added more garlic and added a can of french onion soup and fresh parsley. It feeds a crowd and everyone loved the consistancy and marriages of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was a easy and tasty stew. I didn't have fresh celery or carrots, so about 1/2 hour before it was done I added a can of carrots and one of peas. I added more teriyaki than called for, but still couldn't taste it, so I'm not sure if it's necesssary. Also, didn't use mushrooms because we were out. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I used 1 lg. yukon, parsnip, carrot, 2 stalks celery and I browned beef and cooked on high for several hours. I only had smoked paprika so I used that. I had no problem with liquid. Flavor was a little lacking, tho, as other raters pointed out. I stole a tip from a french beef stew and stirred in a tbs of Grey Poupon before serving and topped w/jack cheese. I would suggest adding a bit of beef Better than Boullion to it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This stew was JUST what I was looking for!!! I doubled the recipe and we barely had any left from 6 adults!!! I added one more carrot, celery stalk, and potato than what the recipe called for because I LOVE lots of stuff in my stew. :) I also omitted the mushrooms (friends we had over don't like them) and added about 1.5 cups of frozen peas. I added about 1/4 cup more flour towards the end to make it thicker. Also, I used 1 can of low sodium beef broth and 1 can of regular and it came out just fine with less sodium! Because I doubled the recipe, mine cooked for 8-9 hours but it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! Will definitely add to my recipe box. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I was looking for a way to use up some leftover steak and this was it. I threw in left over fried onions and mushrooms and a cup of green peas, left out the teriyaki, added a little extra flour at end to thicken. Mine had to cook for 8-9 hours for potatoes and carrots to be done. Nice taste and smelled awesome while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I thought it was really good, but it didn't go over as well with the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolatebabe
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
love it! it's so tasty! I stirfried everything and transferred them to a pot to cook for another hour. Omitted the paprika, but it still tasted good.I marinated the beef with salt, pepper and japanese rice wine 3 hours beofre cooking. Teriyaki sauce definitely helped to bring out the nice flavor. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatebabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
My family loved this recipe. I cooked it on the stovetop. I browned the meat in flour then added the broth, celery, spices, and garlic. I simmered for 1 hour then added the potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, and onion and cooked until done! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I did not use the paprika after reading the other reviews. This was so wonderful to prepare and eat. My husband loved it. I think next time I will add peas instead of celery. However if I didn't change anything it would still be perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States