Hearty Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
MMMMM!!!!! Hearty and just MMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was pretty good! I replaced the teriyaki sauce with worcestershire and used more potatoes and another stalk of celery and baby carrots. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was allright. Of all the stews I've made, this was the mildest (almost verging on bland) and had the most soup-like texture. Having said this, I have yet to find a stew I DON'T like, but because I know there are better ones out there, I won't likely make this one again. I must disclose that I did not follow EIORE's recipe exactly (I know!). I feared 6 hours in a crockpot would not produce tender meat and potatoes, so I set mine to cook for 8 hours. NOTE: Many reviewers complained that their potatoes did not cook thru. If cut into small pieces (i.e. dice), they will be fine, even if simmering for the suggested 6 hour timeframe (this is key). This would be perfect for large families - it's easy on the pocketbook, makes a good amount, is easy to prepare and is mild enough to please multiple palates (especially kiddo's tastebuds). Served with warm French bread, this was a very filling, but average meal. Thanks for sharing, EIORE! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
made this during the ice storm that just came through. needless to say, the stew was gone long before the ice. great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Had to put the new slow cooker I got for Christmas to use and tried this recipe out since I had most of the necessary ingredients. I didn't have mushrooms so I put in a yellow pepper cut into large chunks, and no teriyaki sauce so I used soya sauce. I also added worcestershire sauce as another reviewer recommended and I put in one cup of red wine. I put in one teaspoon on paprika to be on the safe side since other people found the amount of paprika overwhelming. Wow, was this ever GOOD. I'm not one to toot my own horn much, especially with cooking since I'm still sort of new to it. But YUM. I put a lot of the flavour to the fact that I used a nice shiraz in it, and the result was awesome. Cooked on high for 6 hours, and the result was really tender. My husband is working on his second helping and though he's not a picky eater, he doesn't eat with relish unless he REALLY enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
delicious. i forgot to add the garlic and bay leaf, and i added a cubed sweet potato. i'm just sorry that my crock pot wasn't large enough for me to double the recipe so i could stick a batch in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I found the recipe to be a bit bland. I doubled it and after reviewing the ingredients, felt it needed some spicing up. I added garlic powder, Emeril's Essence and Cumin. I used a cut up Pot Roast as well as 1 pound of stew meat. Cooked for 6 1/2 hours in the Crock Pot on high instead of Low as recommended. The meat was perfectly done, but the potatoes were still hard. Transferred to a Dutch Oven and finished for 1 hour on the stove top. My guests all enjoyed the stew, but all felt it was a bit bland. This is a great base, but will add several seasonings in the future. More garlic, Worcestershire Sauce, Seasoning Blend, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
One of our favorite dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Such an easy/great recipie. I am possibly the worlds worst cook and even I was able to make a great stew. I did make a few substitutions. I used Venison for the meat, baby carrots, I also gave it a few hits of Liquid Smoke. All in all, great recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I had to make some additions to get this to my family's taste. I added a can of diced tomatoes, chili powder, extra garlic powder, and worchestershire sauce. Once the additions were made it came out great - without them the flour taste was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States