Hearty Bean Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Outstanding!!! Had some reservations about the bacon and bacon roux, but this was so exceptionally good, that I hesitate to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I used turkey bacon. Also I didn't wait till the end to add bacon to the chowder. I adder after several minutes of boiling at the end. Good comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panyanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was pretty good although I halved the recipe but forgot to halve the garlic. It was pretty strong. My bad lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was not an enjoyable meal at all. It didn't look appetizing and the entire chowder had an off taste to it. I can't put my finger on what the odd flavor was but it wasn't good. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Mmmm, this is yummy! Because our family loves the veggies I added a bit more and then because we're suckers for a creamier soup I added a carton of sour cream towards the end of the simmering and the broth is so yummy I find myself just wanting to drink it straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Yum! Yum! Yum! This soup was delicious and easy. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I wanted to use what I had in the cupboard, which was two cans of cannelini beans and one can of barlotti beans. I found this recipe first off, made it quickly, and loved it!!! Yum, yum! I am so full from my one small bowl! I will definitely make this again! (Oh, I too used chicken broth instead of water.) Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Made this yesterday and it was SO SO good! Thank you so much for this idea, Adam. Instead of water I used broth from my roasted soy/sesame chicken breasts. I can't use onion or garlic so I need all the flavor help I can get. I did not simmer the beans more than 45 minutes since I was worried the black beans would be mushy. I just let the veggies simmer for about half an hour first, then added the beans. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
We have tried this recipe twice, and both times we have ended up disliking it. It tastes like watered down beans and that's it. Even adding more vegetables and seasoning didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Love beans, but could not get past the bacon roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States