Hearty Apple Almond Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
An instant boost in the AM. I love adding almond butter to my oatmeal, it makes it so much creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I had a couple packets of organic apples and cinnamon oatmeal in the pantry I found. Thanks to the ingredient search on AllRecipes, I was able to use them in a sort-of new way. I didn't have almond butter so I used creamy peanut butter instead and I omitted the almonds, only because I didn't have any. The apple I used was a Sweet Tango. The kids thought this was great--they ate every bite. Next time, I'll try this with regular oats, I'll just cook it 4 minutes in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
So yummy! I didn't have almonds, almond butter, or honey, so I ended up changing it quite a bit, but this is a great outline for a great bowl of oatmeal!! I used peanut butter and a bit of brown sugar. And I cooked the oatmeal in the microwave. Since I don't like raw apples, I cut the apples up very small, and I cooked them in the microwave with the oatmeal. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I cooked oatmeal with light soymilk and 1/2 med. size apple about a minute +. And Add crunchy almond butter and cinnamon. It was very good and only about 270 kcalories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious! Perfect for when you need a hearty and healthy breakfast - fast! I didn't have almond butter on hand so I left that out, but other than that I wouldn't change a thing. A perfect mix of fruit and nuts with a nice touch of sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
It seems like a ridiculous amount of work to then use instant oatmeal. Use the real oatmeal. As a timesaver, I cook a whole pot and store the leftovers in the refrigerator. It keeps beautifully and reheats in the microwave well. I make mine with coconut flakes, cinnamon, vanilla extract, some chopped nuts--whatever I have in the freezer, flax seed. I find that it tastes rather like rice pudding; sometimes at night I'll have some of the leftovers cold--then it really tastes like rice pudding. You could put in raisins; I'm just not a big raisin fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. The only thing I changed is I used organic old-fashioned oats and cooked them in milk. Cooking in milk makes it taste just like instant oatmeal for those of us who grew up on instant and decided to make the switch to old-fashioned. All you have to do is use 1 part oats to 2 parts whole milk. Cook on med heat and stir constantly til the milk has thickened and the oats are the consistency/texture you prefer. I've used honey to sweeten, but when I was out of honey, I tried maple syrup and it was delicious as well. It's very filling, not to mention packed with tons of vitamins and healthy fats . My kids rave over this every time I fix it. My husband even likes it and he has never cared for oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I really enjoy this oatmeal in the morning. It's so hearty and warming before I head out the door. I do not use instant oatmeal but the old fashion oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I added a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA


 
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States