Hearts of Palm and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this salad for hubby because he loves hearts of palm. Knowing him, I omitted the sugar altogether because he dislikes sweet dressing. The blend of flavours along with the tweaked dressing was fantastic. I wouldn't hesitate to make this salad for company. The added crunch of the almonds was my favourite part and I think I would try adding bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made as written except that I added crumbled bacon to the top for my meat loving husband. I do wish I would have read the reviews beforehand for I too found the dressing to be entirely too sweet and will cut the sugar in half next time. Other than that, this was a winner all the way and I very much enjoyed the addition of mustard powder and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made a 1/2 recipe and went a little light on the spinach, I used about 1/2 the dressing, we like it light. I also only used 1/2 the amount of sugar like other reviewers suggested which was perfect. I topped the salad with fresh bacon bits and I sauteed the mushrooms in a little bacon grease and white wine and threw them on top warm just before serving, it made kind of a wilted spinach salad. We just don't care much for raw mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Salad tasted good, but not great. The dressing was way to much for me -- I halved the sugar but left the recipe the same otherwise. I just left the dressing on the side and dipped my fork tongs in before each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Dressing is phenomenal. Recipe is 5 stars as is, which is rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This salad is very good for something a little different. I agree that the dressing is too sweet, so you may want to half the sugar then add more if necessary. I also increased the oil and vinegar slightly to make it a little thinner. I used regular tomatoes and sunflower seeds because I didn't have almonds. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I loved all the ingredients, but thought the dressing was not right at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great salad! The hearts of palms gave a nice flavor to this salad. I omitted the cherry tomatoes and added an envelope of splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
The flavors in the salad are great, I reduced the sugar (the ketchup already has some) and I cut the total amount of dressing in half and it was still a little too much for me. The dressing is good, but I like to be able to taste the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good salad!!! I add a diced purple onion as well! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States