Hearts of Palm Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
My husband LOVES this salad! I have made it per recipe & have added several additions (depending on what is on hand) such as; jarred button mushrooms, broccoli, artichoke hearts, grape tomatoes, cucumber etc. We like it best when it's loaded! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Heart of palm seems so exotic and, well, sorta weird, yet everyone at my table devoured them. They are so so good, and I served them with this dressing on a bed of boston lettuce. Delicious and so classy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Good! I cut way back on the oil (I actually ended up mixing the dressing, using white wine vinegar, pretty much according to the package directions - and then didn't use nearly all of it). I added some chopped sundried tomatoes and fresh parsley. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This recipe is great as written. I've subsequently made it w/ a few changes - I use all kalamata olives (I don't like canned black olives) and instead of using the dry dressing mix, olive oil, water & vinegar - I used a tasty champagne vinaigrette from trader joe's (just simpler & more cost effective - TJ also has a good price on the palm hearts) I use real bacon (not a fan of the 'bits'). Let the flavors blend overnight, but add the crumbled bacon just before serving so it stays crunchy. You can also toss this w/ some chopped mixed greens. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I made only one change, which was cutting back on the olive oil, otherwise I did add artichoke hearts and cucumbers to my salad. Great summer meal - everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This tasted great, but I did reduce the amount of oil to 1/2 a cup. Next time I will reduce it again to 1/3 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I found this to be a lovely salad, but I have to agree with everyone who stated there is too much dressing and too much oil. I scaled the recipe down--I only had one jar of hearts of palm, and a smaller one at that--so I only used one packet of dressing and I followed the directions on the packet for less oil (1/4 c oil, 1/4 c water) but left out the water. Even leaving out the water and with the addition of some tomatoes and a large cucumber to this salad, there is too much dressing. The amount of oil was fine in the dressing itself, but I'd say half the amount of dressing would be fine and would still allow the flavors to meld. I certainly like the salad and will probably make it again, but I'll definitely cut back on the dressing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is basically hearts of palm and Italian dressing mixed together, not that that's a bad thing. On the contrary, it's an extremely versatile recipe---throw in whatever veggies seem to fit. The champagne vinegar (although at the high cost I subbed half with another type of vinegar) takes it to another level and adds that extra flavor factor. I only used half the olive oil, and that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Excellent! Husband says its a "keeper". Cut the oil to 1/2. Added extras - broccoli, grape tomatoes, and button mushrooms. I omitted the bacon, but only because I forgot it. You do need to chill for at least 4 hours or overnight in order to get all the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
What a pretty salad! While it lends itself well to adding any variety of ingredients, I loved the simplicity and creativity of this just as is. I did, however, give it a simple dressimg of white wine vinegar and olive oil, and used real cooked and crumbled bacon. This was interesting, delicious, and makes a beautful presentation, particularly if arranged as a composed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States