Hearts of Palm Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
My husband LOVES this salad! I have made it per recipe & have added several additions (depending on what is on hand) such as; jarred button mushrooms, broccoli, artichoke hearts, grape tomatoes, cucumber etc. We like it best when it's loaded! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Heart of palm seems so exotic and, well, sorta weird, yet everyone at my table devoured them. They are so so good, and I served them with this dressing on a bed of boston lettuce. Delicious and so classy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Wonderful! I subbed one can of hearts of palm for artichoke hearts and left out the bacon bits, but still enjoyed it very much! And it's a pantry salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This tasted great, but I did reduce the amount of oil to 1/2 a cup. Next time I will reduce it again to 1/3 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is basically hearts of palm and Italian dressing mixed together, not that that's a bad thing. On the contrary, it's an extremely versatile recipe---throw in whatever veggies seem to fit. The champagne vinegar (although at the high cost I subbed half with another type of vinegar) takes it to another level and adds that extra flavor factor. I only used half the olive oil, and that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My family LOVED this! It was very easy to make and yes, better the next day. I did make a couple of changes, based on other reviews. I used 1/3 cup light olive oil and added broccolli and cucumbers because I had them in the fridge. This was delish!! Oh, and I used white wine instead of vinegar. We ate it all and now I need to make it again for a party next week! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I made only one change, which was cutting back on the olive oil, otherwise I did add artichoke hearts and cucumbers to my salad. Great summer meal - everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Good! I cut way back on the oil (I actually ended up mixing the dressing, using white wine vinegar, pretty much according to the package directions - and then didn't use nearly all of it). I added some chopped sundried tomatoes and fresh parsley. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was good. I subbed rice vinegar because I didn't have the white wine vinegar on hand, and added sliced jalapeno olives (from Trader Joe's). I think it was a bit heavy from the oil and dressing, so next time I would decrease the amount of both. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Fabulous! Can't wait to have leftovers today! I hate olives so those were left out and subed with cherry tomatoe halves and chopped up artichoke hearts and salt and fresh ground pepper. I used white wine vinegar. I deleted bacon too, just didn't sound right in recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States