Hearts of Palm Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
My husband LOVES this salad! I have made it per recipe & have added several additions (depending on what is on hand) such as; jarred button mushrooms, broccoli, artichoke hearts, grape tomatoes, cucumber etc. We like it best when it's loaded! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Heart of palm seems so exotic and, well, sorta weird, yet everyone at my table devoured them. They are so so good, and I served them with this dressing on a bed of boston lettuce. Delicious and so classy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Wonderful! I subbed one can of hearts of palm for artichoke hearts and left out the bacon bits, but still enjoyed it very much! And it's a pantry salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This tasted great, but I did reduce the amount of oil to 1/2 a cup. Next time I will reduce it again to 1/3 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is basically hearts of palm and Italian dressing mixed together, not that that's a bad thing. On the contrary, it's an extremely versatile recipe---throw in whatever veggies seem to fit. The champagne vinegar (although at the high cost I subbed half with another type of vinegar) takes it to another level and adds that extra flavor factor. I only used half the olive oil, and that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My family LOVED this! It was very easy to make and yes, better the next day. I did make a couple of changes, based on other reviews. I used 1/3 cup light olive oil and added broccolli and cucumbers because I had them in the fridge. This was delish!! Oh, and I used white wine instead of vinegar. We ate it all and now I need to make it again for a party next week! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I made only one change, which was cutting back on the olive oil, otherwise I did add artichoke hearts and cucumbers to my salad. Great summer meal - everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Good! I cut way back on the oil (I actually ended up mixing the dressing, using white wine vinegar, pretty much according to the package directions - and then didn't use nearly all of it). I added some chopped sundried tomatoes and fresh parsley. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was good. I subbed rice vinegar because I didn't have the white wine vinegar on hand, and added sliced jalapeno olives (from Trader Joe's). I think it was a bit heavy from the oil and dressing, so next time I would decrease the amount of both. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Fabulous! Can't wait to have leftovers today! I hate olives so those were left out and subed with cherry tomatoe halves and chopped up artichoke hearts and salt and fresh ground pepper. I used white wine vinegar. I deleted bacon too, just didn't sound right in recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States