Hearts of Palm Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Great salad, we made one bowl with and one without bacon for our staff meeting and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbara
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I liked the idea but instead of the dried Italian Dressing I substituted regular Zesty Italian. I didn't need any olive oil or water after the substitution. I also combined it with a recipe for roasted hearts of palm, that called for Parmesan and parsley. After I roasted the hearts I let them cool then combined the two recipes. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
What a pretty salad! While it lends itself well to adding any variety of ingredients, I loved the simplicity and creativity of this just as is. I did, however, give it a simple dressimg of white wine vinegar and olive oil, and used real cooked and crumbled bacon. This was interesting, delicious, and makes a beautful presentation, particularly if arranged as a composed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
It was ok! I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Next time I will add some anchovies and small pieces of Romaine lettuce. Also will try with macaroni to make a macaroni salad. I used Italian dressing from a bottle because I didn't have powder. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Thank you for a wonderful base recipe! I have to admit I did change the recipe quite a bit but your recipe was the inspiration!! I omitted the bacon bits and olives. I used a bottle of light champagne vinaigrette from trader joe's to economize as another review suggested. FABULOSO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Really nice and so easy to put together. I also beefed it up: cucumbers, red onion, sun dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, stuffed green olives and only two cans hearts of palm... Left out the bacon bits because I got a healthier crunch from the veggies. My BF found it too tangy but that's because I cut the oil and didn't balance the vinegar. I liked the kick though. Kind of expensive but I'd definitely make it again for small dinner parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I added sundried tomatoes, used kalmatas instead of black olives, artichoke hearts, and some green onion. With all that flavor you can dress it much lighter than the recipe. Great recipe to tweak to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This recipe is great as written. I've subsequently made it w/ a few changes - I use all kalamata olives (I don't like canned black olives) and instead of using the dry dressing mix, olive oil, water & vinegar - I used a tasty champagne vinaigrette from trader joe's (just simpler & more cost effective - TJ also has a good price on the palm hearts) I use real bacon (not a fan of the 'bits'). Let the flavors blend overnight, but add the crumbled bacon just before serving so it stays crunchy. You can also toss this w/ some chopped mixed greens. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Awesome as a side or as a meal unto itself! I'd never heard of champagne vinegar until I tried this recipe but it is perfect with this recipe! I love hearts of palm and am thrilled to have a way to prepare it besides just tossing it on to a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States