Hearts of Palm Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Perfect!!! I added some zucchini to it and a pinch of cayenne pepper, It was so easy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this for a Christmas holiday dinner and it was fabulous! I scaled it to 6 servings and it worked fine. Only change I made: I added about a cup of baby portabellos to the onion and sauteed them together. Will definitely serve this again --- my next dinner party will be a hit with this on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I'm on a diet so I lightened it up a bit. I have made risotto many times so was sure cutting out some of the butter/oil wouldn't change it too much. I reduced the olive oil to one tsp, using this to saute the onion. I followed as directed except substituting Chicken for Vegetable Broth and using more broth instead of wine. I had a can of Hearts of Palm - used the entire thing diced fine (this may be too much for some but I love the taste!) Finally, topped with reduced fat Italian blend cheese. Delish - and it doesn't taste low fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southerngal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
LOVE this risotto! It was a big hit with my family. I was in a hurry and didn't follow the instructions at the beginning of the recipe, toasting the rice. I also used a couple teaspoons of minced garlic in place of the onion. As long as you stir in the liquid slowly, this is foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My toddlers loved it! I replaced, of course, the wine with more broth, and the broth was very light to avoid salt. A good way of making them eat hearts of palm, something unusual, and help them open up to a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Sensational! This recipe rocks! I got some help from a friend that says you can never stop stirring. I don't need to go to health club because my arms are so toned now. Used Artichoke hearts instead of hearts of palm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was very good but I think that it needed something else. I made this with mini bow tie pasta rather than risotto & red wine instead of white. I used about half the butter, oil, cheese & vegetable broth. Though, it still came out with a hearty flavor. The hearts of palm were not the star of this dish so next time I would like to add a variety of mushrooms / vegetables. What I liked most about this recipe was the methodology of this recipe. I likes that the grain was cooked in the broth & wine because it made my pasta very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was SO good! I used a non stick pan so that I didn't have to stir constantly. I stirred once every 2 minutes or so. I also added sliced portabella mushrooms when I added the hearts of palm. This was my first attempt at risotto - I will be making this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States