Hearts of Palm Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Sensational! This recipe rocks! I got some help from a friend that says you can never stop stirring. I don't need to go to health club because my arms are so toned now. Used Artichoke hearts instead of hearts of palm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
The end product was outstanding despite not having the perfect ingredients or being able to follow the directions exactly. Used long grain white rice(one less cup of water and chicken base), no broth, and put the palm in with the onions(oops!). served with chicken and asparagus stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My toddlers loved it! I replaced, of course, the wine with more broth, and the broth was very light to avoid salt. A good way of making them eat hearts of palm, something unusual, and help them open up to a new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We were looking for a way to jazz up rice as a side-dish and this did the trick! Out of necessity we used regular white rice (worked great), Sake for the white wine (it was all we had), added half of a can mushrooms (they added color and an extra layer of consistency), and omitted the cheese (just didn't have any). Even without the cheese, it was very thick and flavorful. Also followed another user's advice and stirred [almost] constantly. Thanks for the great recipe, this will definitely be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a tasty recipe. I used chicken broth instead of veggie and substituted mushrooms for the hearts of palm. Your instructions do not state when to add the cheese. I assume at the end as with most risottos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe! My daughter, who does not care for hearts of palm, loved it as well. The Parmesan gives it a nice cheesieness. I was out of white wine so skipped that, but added a half cup of frozen baby peas. With the peas added it's a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by playsindirt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this for a Christmas holiday dinner and it was fabulous! I scaled it to 6 servings and it worked fine. Only change I made: I added about a cup of baby portabellos to the onion and sauteed them together. Will definitely serve this again --- my next dinner party will be a hit with this on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I found this while doing a search for risotto. I spent a month in Brazil several years ago visiting a cousin I had never met. I fell in love with this country and its food and I miss it very much. I am definitely going to have to try this. Obrigato, Patricia (hope I said that right.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Perfect!!! I added some zucchini to it and a pinch of cayenne pepper, It was so easy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was very good but I think that it needed something else. I made this with mini bow tie pasta rather than risotto & red wine instead of white. I used about half the butter, oil, cheese & vegetable broth. Though, it still came out with a hearty flavor. The hearts of palm were not the star of this dish so next time I would like to add a variety of mushrooms / vegetables. What I liked most about this recipe was the methodology of this recipe. I likes that the grain was cooked in the broth & wine because it made my pasta very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Bacon Risotto

Bacon’s the star of the show in this simple risotto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States