Heart Attack Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is how I grew up, learning to make scrambled eggs from Grandma. She always kept a container of bacon grease in her fridge that she used for various dishes, in particular scrambled eggs. She also made hers in her cast iron skillet, which I also do as well. I don't make this all the time but when I'm looking for comfort food or a bite of a memory, this is one of my go-to foods. I serve it with sausage or bacon, home fries and buttered toast. My kids and husband love this recipe just as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Well, you only live once...that being said I decided since I was frying bacon anyway I'd give this a try. I only used a bit of bacon grease to fry the eggs as I didn't want them necessarily "floating" in grease. Overall they were very good. Not, something I'd do on a regular basis because I'm not looking to have a "heart attack" or cause my husband to have one either. And while I was on a bacon grease kick I decided to go ahead and pair this with "Dad's Kentucky Home Fries" from this site. I think the only healthy on our plates was the whole grain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Growing up, whenever we had bacon and eggs, the eggs were fried in the bacon grease. No butter, no margarine, no oil. Bacon grease. In fact, my parents always kept a container of leftover grease in the fridge (cool the grease a little in the pan and pour it into a lidded heat-resistant container) and my siblings and I keep containers of it in our fridges. Bacon grease adds awesome flavour to so many fried things, from mushrooms to pancakes. :) Yeah, it's not so great for you, but sometimes you just gotta go for taste! Thanks for the post, Kirbert70!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
The best way to fry eggs! My grandma lived to be nearly 100 years old and she ate eggs cooked this way all the time, so they can't be all bad :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I don't have to worry about fitting into my jeans. And if I ever have a heart attack, it'll probably be from stress. So when I get in the rare mood to have a fried egg... this is the ONLY WAY to do it up, in bacon grease! You might as well enjoy it once in awhile, since nothing quite compares to the flavor... not even butter. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
My husband makes bacon and eggs this way. He doesn't want to linger around with cancer someday, just wants to go quickly with a heart attack. We salt and pepper the eggs, add buttered toast and we are set for breakfast! We do this as a treat about once a month. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My mother taught me to cook them this way many years ago. Another way is to baste the eggs with the grease instead of turning the egg. That usually makes the yolk more runny so you can mop up the yolk with white bread toasted and buttered. Counteract the cholesterol with a half of grapefruit sectioned and sugared. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Yum! Reminds me of my dad. It was the only thing he could cook. When mom wasn't home, you knew this is what you would eat. It didn't matter what time of day or night it was. I try & get most of the grease off with a paper towel. I also only use pepper. A good applewood smoked bacon adds the salt. I also fry extra bacon to use later in broccoli salad or potato soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the best way to cook a Sunday morning breakfast, along with my paprika-onion-garlic home fries done in the remaining bacon fat. Mmm-Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TommyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
bacon fat is the best flavour for eggs. i usually like to scramble the eggs in the fat (more flavour), as well as frying some mushrooms in the fat as well! yummy weekend breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States