Heart Attack Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Of course this recipe is delicious, this is the only way for a real southerner to eat bacon and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is how I grew up, learning to make scrambled eggs from Grandma. She always kept a container of bacon grease in her fridge that she used for various dishes, in particular scrambled eggs. She also made hers in her cast iron skillet, which I also do as well. I don't make this all the time but when I'm looking for comfort food or a bite of a memory, this is one of my go-to foods. I serve it with sausage or bacon, home fries and buttered toast. My kids and husband love this recipe just as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Growing up, whenever we had bacon and eggs, the eggs were fried in the bacon grease. No butter, no margarine, no oil. Bacon grease. In fact, my parents always kept a container of leftover grease in the fridge (cool the grease a little in the pan and pour it into a lidded heat-resistant container) and my siblings and I keep containers of it in our fridges. Bacon grease adds awesome flavour to so many fried things, from mushrooms to pancakes. :) Yeah, it's not so great for you, but sometimes you just gotta go for taste! Thanks for the post, Kirbert70!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is the only way I was ever taught to have fried eggs, and I really have no desire to check any other methods out. You can always blot the grease from the eggs, that leaves some of the flavor and cuts a little bit of the fat. All I can suggest is wheat bread and a glass of milk to make this one of the most amazing breakfasts ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I like to make my eggs like this every once in awhile, the only differene is I scramble the eggs instead of frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Really good! I like the edge of the egg where it gets crisp, very tastey! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is the only way to make fried eggs. They just aren't good without the bacon grease. I also cook french toast in bacon grease. Can't eat it every day, but it's a nice weekend treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Yum! Reminds me of my dad. It was the only thing he could cook. When mom wasn't home, you knew this is what you would eat. It didn't matter what time of day or night it was. I try & get most of the grease off with a paper towel. I also only use pepper. A good applewood smoked bacon adds the salt. I also fry extra bacon to use later in broccoli salad or potato soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I spoon the grease over the egg instead of flipping it until the yolk is the desired doneness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My boyfriend really liked the flavor that the bacon juices gave to the eggs, but it was a little *too* hearty for him (and that's saying a LOT). He immediately asked for some vegetables on the side, and I quickly rinsed a few pieces of romaine lettuce for him. He seemed quite satisfied overall. My only complaint is that it is not something you want to serve company. It did not look very appealing, and I'm pretty sure that's why there are no photos posted for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States