Healthy Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very good healthy option. Will it replace my other pumpkin muffins with more oil and eggs? No but I will continue to make them when I have a health conscience guest. I rate these a 5 star for what they are, a healthy option recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I used all whole wheat flour, and old fashioned oats (not quick oats) and they were still delicious. You wouldn't know the recipe was 'healthy!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jn
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Was looking for a high fiber muffin since husband just had surgery and needs more fiber plus something to appeal to his decreased appetite and this looked promising. Made a few changes by adding 1/4 cup of ground flax seed and 1/4 cup of wheat germ, increased oats to 3/4 cup and cinnamon to 3/4 tsp., omitted oil and used the entire 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree and left out the white sugar and increased brown sugar by 2 tablespoons. Used almond milk and apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Just added dried reduced sugar cranberries which is what I had and added some chopped pecans. With the additions it made 18 muffins and they were baked in 23 minutes. Very moist with lots of flavor and well received by my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Yum! I made 2 batches of these muffins, one batch I made with the oil the other batch I subbed applesauce for the oil. Also, both batches I used 3/4 cups craisins plumped in hot water then drained. The batch with the oil I found had a tad more flavor to them but they both came out excellent! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These are yummy! Only changes I made were to use all whole wheat flour, and instead of the dried cranberries, I added some chopped walnuts. These are great with breakfast, and I love that they are low calorie (I calculated 135 calories each with my changes). Will make these again and again!! Also, I only baked 18 minutes, and they were perfect, any longer and they might have been dry. Could be because my oven runs a tiny bit hot though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This will be my staple pumpkin recipe from now on. Like others have said it doesn't seem like a "healthy" recipe. The ginger does add a unique flavour - it makes you stop and think - what's different about this muffin? But it is not overwhelming and I wouldn't change it. I have used both fresh and dried cranberries - made it twice in the past week and a double batch the second time because it is such a great seasonal recipe- but I actually prefer the dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Yum! I substituted extra whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour. I live at high altitude but these turned out perfect, so moist and flavorful, not dense at all. I will definitely bake these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I substituted coconut flour/almond meal flour for the AP flour. I also sub'd applesauce/coconut oil for the veg. oil. Instead of muffins I put in 7x10 pan and sprinkled coconut on the top. Delicious and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by em1079
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is a fall favorite. I substituted extra oats for the all purpose flower and left out the white sugar entirely. I used extra fresh chopped cranberries instead of adding dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
AMAZING!!! They were soft and moist, and so delicious. I substituted another 1/4 cup of dried cranberries instead of fresh, and it still came out well. Also, it only took me 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States