Healthy Pumpkin Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
My family and friends and I loved this recipe. It was moist and tasty. The spices really brought out the pumpkin flavor. I only used dried cranberries because I didn't have fresh ones. I omitted the white sugar and salt, but it still tasted great. I will definitely make them again. I also liked that it only used 2 tablespoons of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Yum! I made 2 batches of these muffins, one batch I made with the oil the other batch I subbed applesauce for the oil. Also, both batches I used 3/4 cups craisins plumped in hot water then drained. The batch with the oil I found had a tad more flavor to them but they both came out excellent! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
These are yummy! Only changes I made were to use all whole wheat flour, and instead of the dried cranberries, I added some chopped walnuts. These are great with breakfast, and I love that they are low calorie (I calculated 135 calories each with my changes). Will make these again and again!! Also, I only baked 18 minutes, and they were perfect, any longer and they might have been dry. Could be because my oven runs a tiny bit hot though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jn
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Was looking for a high fiber muffin since husband just had surgery and needs more fiber plus something to appeal to his decreased appetite and this looked promising. Made a few changes by adding 1/4 cup of ground flax seed and 1/4 cup of wheat germ, increased oats to 3/4 cup and cinnamon to 3/4 tsp., omitted oil and used the entire 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree and left out the white sugar and increased brown sugar by 2 tablespoons. Used almond milk and apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Just added dried reduced sugar cranberries which is what I had and added some chopped pecans. With the additions it made 18 muffins and they were baked in 23 minutes. Very moist with lots of flavor and well received by my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Not sure.......I made some subs, applesauce for the oil, all organic whole wheat flour, and, no white sugar. I used all brown sugar. It was ok, but I had made the 100 calorie blueberry muffins 3days ago and they were excellent! I also added flax seed, and nuts. Again, it was ok, but kinda bland. Friday I'm going to make them with less nutmeg or ginger. Something..............I think after the blueberry muffins these were quite the let down. The other muffins were a party in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Gallardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this for a Christmas party at a nursing home with a few modifications, some b/c that's what I had, some to make it healthier. Old fashioned oats Fresh cranberries only, no dried 1/2 cup sugar total Skipped the salt Yogurt in place of milk & vinegar They turned out pretty well but didn't rise quite as much as I expected. Maybe they needed the salt for that. Still, they were quite tasty, & I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Easy, tasty, moist. Will definitely make these on a regular basis. Great seasonal muffin. Freezes well and doesn't really need microwave warm up before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These are pretty good and my kids loved them! Very moist, lot's of flavour. I used 3/4 cup of dried cranberries that I plumped up in hot water, and 1/4 cup of chocolate chips. I also added 1/4 cup of flax seed meal to boost the nutrition,( I do this in most baking recipes). I subbed the oil for applesauce which worked out great as there is very little oil anyways. This extra moistness would make it easy to use all whole wheat flour, so I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Followed the recipe as is and the muffins were great! Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
If you take half the white sugar in the recipe and use it to coat the fresh cranberries before adding them to the batter, they bake up sweet in the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States