Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Bonka Baby
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was sooo good and filling! I made a few changes. Used canola oil instead of vegetable oil. Doubled the amount of seasoning. Used natural seasonings instead of salt and pepper. Used two breasts instead of four. Used half the amount of cheese and half a cup of salsa. Would definitely make again! Served it with Mexican style corn (added rotel peppers and butter) and refried beans .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is really good. I just got it a couple of weeks ago in an All Recipes daily email. I have already made it twice and it's definitely a hit with my husband who even ate it for leftovers. One thing that made it easier for me is to cook the whole thing on top of the stove in the pan. I just seasoned the chicken and browned it as recommended, poured the salsa on top, lowered the heat so it was just bubbling, covered it and cooked it for 15 to 20 minutes. When the chicken was just about done I topped it with cheese. YUM YUM and really quick. BTW I may have used more spices than the recipe calls for. I did not measure them just sprinkled both sides of the chicken with salt, pepper, cumin and garlic powder. I think I used more salsa too, maybe closer to 2 cups. Again, I did not measure just covered each piece of chicken in salsa. I used mild as called for and the second time used the cheddar cheese I had on hand and it was equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Excellent, easy to make. I usually need more of the rub than the recipe calls for, but I use chicken strips instead of whole breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Super easy and great tasting! I didn't change one thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My family loved this. We cut the chicken up and put into steamed corn tortillas very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Yum. Double the sauce and I added a small can of green chiles. Served with brown rice and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Good recipe. Chicken stayed moist, although the entire dish mostly tasted like the salsa. We will definitely eat again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Simple, quick, and delicious! I needed something easy for a weeknight meal and this was a great way to enjoy Mexican without all the guilt! I sprinkled both sides of the chicken with the garlic powder and cumin plus a little chili powder. Since there's no need to brown the chicken first and opting out of the oil cuts back on the fat I sprayed an 8x8 baking dish with Pam and put the chicken topped with a 16 oz. jar of salsa in the oven and baked 350 for 45 minutes. The last 5 minutes I grated low fat Colby Jack cheese over top to melt. To make the presentation a little better to serve, I topped it with chopped green onion and sliced black olives. This was wonderful served with fat free plain greek yogurt (instead of sour cream),brown rice, and black beans. This has to be one of the easiest low fat meals ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I fixed this tonight for dinner. Reduced the serving size for 2 - it's just me and my husband. It took very little time, effort, and expense, but came out AMAZING. I've got plans to take this recipe and "run" with it by changing it up from time to time just to keep hubby on his toes!! We both really enjoyed it and cleaned our plates. I served it with fresh, steamed green beans and corn-on-the-cob. He thought I'd slaved hours on what he called a "gourmet meal." This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great simple recipe. Only changes I made was to use sharp cheddar. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States