Healthy Living Cheesy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
THis is so yummy the only thing I change is instead of using sour cream. I use 1/4 cup of Bulgarian Yogurt instead. I then Add thyme, and salt and pepper. It's really yummy and kids don't even know there is califlower in it. I love it and my family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I cooked the potatoes and cauliflower in organic chicken broth for added flavor. As I mashed them, I added fresh ground pepper and some sauteed garlic and onion. Really good. Even my cauliflower hating husband and potato hating youngest liked these. Excellent with meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Much better than I was expecting! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this withh just a few minor changes. I left a little bit of the cooking liquid with the potatoes and veggies, which made for a nicer texture. I used less potatoes and more cauliflower, did not make it taste less like mashed potatoes. It was a bit bland for my taste so I added salt, pepper and a bit of garlic. Overall pretty good. Does not taste low fat and it is probably an easy way to sneak some cauliflower in without your kids noticing it. Prep time is super fast and 40 minutes is a very generous estimate. Once the veggies are boiled it takes all but five minutes to mash everything together. For those who have never made mashed potatoes before: you must mash them by hand, please don't use a blender or you'll end up with a pretty untasty, glue like mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
We really liked this recipe. I've made it twice and left it basically the same both time (doubled it the second time). I tend to add garlic & some random italian spices for added flavor. But it was surprising really good and I loved the texture. I could eat this in place of mashed potatoes on thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is great! I, like other reviewers, used more cauliflower than potatoes. I also omitted the sour cream and subbed it with some milk to make it lower in fat. Definitely needs some salt and pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was great, but definitely needed modification. There is a lot you could do to make it EVEN more like regular mashed potatoes but NOT be healthy but here are some things I did, which I still feel like were healthy additions: I used approximately 2 red potatoes (all I had on hand) and a head of cauliflower. Add Spices!!! I used garlic powder, salt, pepper, thyme and oregano. I added a couple of squirts of that "I Can't Believe Its Not Butter" spray. I added a little bit of fat free organic milk. I think one thing would help make this be more like the consistency of real mashed potatoes is after draining the potatoes/cauliflower, mix it up in a food processor. THEN add to pan along w/ all the other spices and optional liquid. If anythings, I would say the spices are the only MUST that I've added here. Otherwise it would taste too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I like this recipe with more cauliflower as others have suggested. I will next time steam the veggies or for sure drain the califlower in a collander to get as much moisture out as I think the end product is a little watery. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
add roasted garlic and its amazingly deceptive. tastes more llike loadedmashed potatoes than "healthy" mashe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
More cauliflower and more sour cream...Definitely needs salt/garlic/flavor but tastes like the real thing. Like others, I don't throw in the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States