Healthy Living Cheesy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I cooked the potatoes and cauliflower in organic chicken broth for added flavor. As I mashed them, I added fresh ground pepper and some sauteed garlic and onion. Really good. Even my cauliflower hating husband and potato hating youngest liked these. Excellent with meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
More cauliflower and more sour cream...Definitely needs salt/garlic/flavor but tastes like the real thing. Like others, I don't throw in the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
add roasted garlic and its amazingly deceptive. tastes more llike loadedmashed potatoes than "healthy" mashe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I like this recipe with more cauliflower as others have suggested. I will next time steam the veggies or for sure drain the califlower in a collander to get as much moisture out as I think the end product is a little watery. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was great, but definitely needed modification. There is a lot you could do to make it EVEN more like regular mashed potatoes but NOT be healthy but here are some things I did, which I still feel like were healthy additions: I used approximately 2 red potatoes (all I had on hand) and a head of cauliflower. Add Spices!!! I used garlic powder, salt, pepper, thyme and oregano. I added a couple of squirts of that "I Can't Believe Its Not Butter" spray. I added a little bit of fat free organic milk. I think one thing would help make this be more like the consistency of real mashed potatoes is after draining the potatoes/cauliflower, mix it up in a food processor. THEN add to pan along w/ all the other spices and optional liquid. If anythings, I would say the spices are the only MUST that I've added here. Otherwise it would taste too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
THis is so yummy the only thing I change is instead of using sour cream. I use 1/4 cup of Bulgarian Yogurt instead. I then Add thyme, and salt and pepper. It's really yummy and kids don't even know there is califlower in it. I love it and my family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
No one liked this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUMOR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Connellys Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I modified this version slightly. My husband is against eating potatoes (b/c of the carbs) so I've been using turnips instead. They are less than half the carbs yet the texture still resembles potatoes. The taste is just a little sweeter. So I thought I'd substitute them for potatoes in this recipe and it turned out wonderful! Along with everyone else, I added some kosher salt and ground pepper for flavor! I will def be adding this to my saved items and making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
didnt add any cheese but was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is great! I, like other reviewers, used more cauliflower than potatoes. I also omitted the sour cream and subbed it with some milk to make it lower in fat. Definitely needs some salt and pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States