Healthy "Italian Mac and Cheese" with Carrot Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Liz Dalton
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made this to the recipe and it was very good! We loved that the Barilla Whole Grain Elbows had more texture and firmness than regular pasta. The 6g of fiber was an added bonus! It also has enough cheesiness with the carrot in it to still be a great mac n cheese. Will make again, thinking of adding ham, peas, and carrots for a nice casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Pretty good. Definitely not the healthiest, but I subbed evaporated skim milk for the cream. Good flavor - the asiago gave it a unique strong cheese taste. I used shells instead of elbows and will make again. Oh, and instead of cooking fresh carrots, I used a jar of my homecanned carrots and then just smashed them. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
My 2 year old ate this up. I thought it was ok. I used rotini pasta since it's easier for him to eat. I think the recipe is not that healthy though considering the fat and calorie content. I would try using whole milk maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Since I'm not a fan of elbows, I used rotini---the gluten free one (not my favorite choice, but what I have to deal with for my tasters). I have to tell you that my granddaughter loved this! I thought it was really missing flavor---more salt and (cayenne) pepper? Tajin? Sriracha? I followed the recipe exactly otherwise and thought I'd make it again for the little ones. I do really like the Barilla pasta---my favorite choice always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
tasty. I subbed evaporated skim milk for the cream and went a tad lighter on the cheese. It worked great. Fresh cracked rainbow peppercorns and pink sea salt perked this right up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My family loved this mac and cheese! I made the recipe as written except I used gluten free macaroni and it turned out perfect. There was a hint of carrots but my family had no clue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this for a two year old and 8 year old for lunch and both of them ate it up. The only change I made was to use Barilla veggie pasta - the elbows made with carrots & butternut squash. Helped me sneak even more veggie-ness in there. Personally, I could taste the pure├ęd carrots, but it wasn't off-putting at all, and the kids didn't mention it. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was very simple to make, and yes the recipe is high in fat and calories but in case you missed the title of the recipe it has cheese in it which will contribute to the higher fat and calorie content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Healthy? Hardly! But healthier. I love the idea of sneaking in carrots into this comfort dish. Heavy cream makes for a great dish but 1% does fine too. I often add cooked veggies. Steamed broccoli is my favorite but for folks whose kids don't "do" veggies it is a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kindle Cheney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veggie Elbows Mac and Cheese

An easy veggie pasta tossed with okra and a creamy, three-cheese sauce.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Ditalini Pasta Salad

Iowa inspires a simple pasta salad with corn, beans, avocado, and cotija cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States