Healthy Honey Carrot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I made these cookies and added an aditional egg, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. They were awesome. My whole family enjoyed their light and fluffy texture along with their lemony taste. I thought they were great without any added sugar or chocolate :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Excellent cookie. I substituted orange extract in place of the lemon extract. I also used store bought shredded carrots (I chopped the shreds into shorter pieces). I did not sift the flour (I never do) and I used only a dash of salt. I like the simplicity of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I thought this was a very nice cookie. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly.The texture was light and so was the flavour but thats not to say that they weren't tasty. The lack of sugar is a definite plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
these cookies are fabulous. i added cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and currents to help spice them up (from other reviews saing they are bland), next time i may try golden raisins or dries cranberries. thank you for a great cookie recipe on the healthy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I like this recipe. I was looking for a healthy cookie to make for my 2 1/2 year old cookie monster. I added cinnamon, a handful of quick oats and some applesauce. They turned out really good. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forney, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I gave this four stars because my kids liked these cookies, but only with modifications. It's hard for me to get excited about a cookie unless it has chocolate in it. Per other user's suggestions, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, another egg, a little applesauce, and 4 tablespoons of sugar just to make sure it was sweet enough for the kiddies to enjoy. I did have to add more flour to make the consistency thicker. Even with all these additions they were still somewhat bland, but tasty enough for my kiddos to enjoy which was all that mattered to me anyways. If you want something that is healthy and not overloaded with sugar, with the right modifications this might be the cookie for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe as is, only rates a 3, as it would be pretty bland; however, with a few other ingredients to spice it up, it has the potential to be a 5. Therefore, I gave it a 4. I added a 2nd egg per some other suggestions as well as 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, a dash of ginger, and 2 tbsp of white sugar. They were actually very good. My 16 year old raised his eyes at the carrots, but ate a couple and said that they would have been better with some chocolate, but otherwise were pretty good. My 7 year old turned her nose up at the carrot cookies, but after I forced her to try one, she sheepishly ate every last crumb, and my 2 1/2 year old ate 3 and said "delicious!". With the addition of the spices, these were not bland at all. I cooked them for 14 minutes and they were not dry at all either, only light and fluffy and yummy... although I may sneak in some semi-sweet choco chips next time instead of the 2 tbsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Good, but I did read the reviews. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, 2T sugar and shortened the baking time. Even kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Adjusted this to be gluten free by substituting 2 cups Bob's Redmill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour and 1/2 cup flax meal, also had to substitute some agave syrup for honey, grated frozen lemon for extract, and added ground sage, cinnamon and nutmeg to taste. So cannot rate recipe as is, but it was a great launching pad for a healthy toddler approved cookie. Great way to sneak in veggies for a gluten intolerant child who refuses them. Next time I will sub coconut oil for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This was great with the additions suggested by a reviewer: nutmeg, sugar, ginger and extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Cerrone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States