Healthy Honey Carrot Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe as is, only rates a 3, as it would be pretty bland; however, with a few other ingredients to spice it up, it has the potential to be a 5. Therefore, I gave it a 4. I added a 2nd egg per some other suggestions as well as 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, a dash of ginger, and 2 tbsp of white sugar. They were actually very good. My 16 year old raised his eyes at the carrots, but ate a couple and said that they would have been better with some chocolate, but otherwise were pretty good. My 7 year old turned her nose up at the carrot cookies, but after I forced her to try one, she sheepishly ate every last crumb, and my 2 1/2 year old ate 3 and said "delicious!". With the addition of the spices, these were not bland at all. I cooked them for 14 minutes and they were not dry at all either, only light and fluffy and yummy... although I may sneak in some semi-sweet choco chips next time instead of the 2 tbsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
These cookies were horrible! I even tried adding cinnamon, nutmeg and lemon zest, and that didn't help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
i would not recommend this recipe. it ends up to be really puffy and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I thought this was a very nice cookie. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly.The texture was light and so was the flavour but thats not to say that they weren't tasty. The lack of sugar is a definite plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I think the problem is you just need an extra egg. That should solve the problem since the batter was too dry. However, I just added some milk and i used 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of white sugar since I didn't have honey and mine turned out really good. But maybe next time I'll just use 2 eggs and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I gave this four stars because my kids liked these cookies, but only with modifications. It's hard for me to get excited about a cookie unless it has chocolate in it. Per other user's suggestions, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, another egg, a little applesauce, and 4 tablespoons of sugar just to make sure it was sweet enough for the kiddies to enjoy. I did have to add more flour to make the consistency thicker. Even with all these additions they were still somewhat bland, but tasty enough for my kiddos to enjoy which was all that mattered to me anyways. If you want something that is healthy and not overloaded with sugar, with the right modifications this might be the cookie for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
these cookies are fabulous. i added cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and currents to help spice them up (from other reviews saing they are bland), next time i may try golden raisins or dries cranberries. thank you for a great cookie recipe on the healthy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
With so much butter, sorry they are for sure delicious but quite far from healthy. Honey is healthy but in this amount is also a lot of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I like this recipe. I was looking for a healthy cookie to make for my 2 1/2 year old cookie monster. I added cinnamon, a handful of quick oats and some applesauce. They turned out really good. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forney, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Dry cookie, not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States