Healthy Green Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is the Mean Green recipe made famous in the movie "Fat. Sick and Nearly Dead". It's one of the most used green juice recipes out there and there's a good reason. The flavor is slightly sweet (apples) and a bit spicy (ginger). It's really easy to digest and very filling. The hardest part about making this juice will be cleaning your juicer. That's always a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Perfect recipe. Sometimes I add some protein powder and call it breakfast! It's delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I have been using this recipe for about 3 weeks. Of the "very healthy" juicer recipes I have tried I like the taste and effects of this best. I don't make faces when I drink it like some of them! In fact I rather like the flavor. I don't peel or de-leaf anything and I usually use 8-10 kale leaves and a bit more ginger. I like that my husband and I are consuming 2 to 3 x as much fresh fruits and veggies with just 8 oz of this per day. My skin has improved, I am less hungry duirng the day, and even at the end of a long day I am still going strong. I didn't expect that at all... just wanted to eat healthier and use the juicer that has been sitting for far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Just started juicing and was looking for this recipe from the movie. In case you're curious about calorie counts (forgive me I have not read every review) here they are: Kale/cup - 40 Celery/stalk - 5 Cucumber 8" - 15 Apple medium - 60 Lemon - 15 Ginger Root - 9 I'm guessing by the recipe listed the entire double serving weighs in at 259.5 calories or 129.75 per serving. I only use one apple and usually an entire lemon. Just my taste. I've also found that about a quarter tsp of horseradish adds a little bite to it. I've also added fresh jalepeno. Both mods are pretty good. Thanks a million for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is a great tasting juice! The ginger, lemon, and apples really blend the kale in well. I used 1/2 a lemon and 2 full leaves of kale for my first try ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Tiffany~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My husband and I are enjoying this Green drink. We love it and we are noticing that we do not feel hungry after drinking this juice, it is refreshing and all good things do not taste good! but we love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I love this juice recipe. I use it all the time. I really love the taste of lemon so I use a whole one instead of half and I like to change up the ingredients I use to add variety. For the leafy greens, sometimes I use kale, other times it is spinach or collard greens. I like to add some parsley sprigs, basil or mint for an earthier taste and the choices for fruit are pretty versatile too. Apples, peaches, and pears work best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Only had 4 pieces of Kale, otherwise followed as stated. I think next time I'll add 1 whole lemon and some more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Followed the recipe as is (for 2 servings) and really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I just started juicing and wanted to try a juice with kale in it and with other ingredients I already had. This worked great. Very simple. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Green Juice

This healthy juice features kale, cucumber, apples, ginger, and lemon.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States