Healthy Green Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is the Mean Green recipe made famous in the movie "Fat. Sick and Nearly Dead". It's one of the most used green juice recipes out there and there's a good reason. The flavor is slightly sweet (apples) and a bit spicy (ginger). It's really easy to digest and very filling. The hardest part about making this juice will be cleaning your juicer. That's always a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This green juice tastes mostly of celery. After a few sips, I added a cup of grapes to tone down the celery and sweeten a little more. Very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is a great tasting juice! The ginger, lemon, and apples really blend the kale in well. I used 1/2 a lemon and 2 full leaves of kale for my first try ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Tiffany~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I have been using this recipe for about 3 weeks. Of the "very healthy" juicer recipes I have tried I like the taste and effects of this best. I don't make faces when I drink it like some of them! In fact I rather like the flavor. I don't peel or de-leaf anything and I usually use 8-10 kale leaves and a bit more ginger. I like that my husband and I are consuming 2 to 3 x as much fresh fruits and veggies with just 8 oz of this per day. My skin has improved, I am less hungry duirng the day, and even at the end of a long day I am still going strong. I didn't expect that at all... just wanted to eat healthier and use the juicer that has been sitting for far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a great body cleanser but I got rid of my juicer because of the waste of important pulp, the only complete way to get all the benefit of these juices is with a Nutra Bullet. Best hundred dollars I ever spent. these recipes are totally wonderful for your body and mind but you need all that the fruit and veggies have to offer. I also add blueberries, strawberries or blackberries to the tropical drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Just started juicing and was looking for this recipe from the movie. In case you're curious about calorie counts (forgive me I have not read every review) here they are: Kale/cup - 40 Celery/stalk - 5 Cucumber 8" - 15 Apple medium - 60 Lemon - 15 Ginger Root - 9 I'm guessing by the recipe listed the entire double serving weighs in at 259.5 calories or 129.75 per serving. I only use one apple and usually an entire lemon. Just my taste. I've also found that about a quarter tsp of horseradish adds a little bite to it. I've also added fresh jalepeno. Both mods are pretty good. Thanks a million for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Was drinkable and no doubt healthy but not my fav. this is something you consume bc its good for you not bc you love to drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I love this juice recipe. I use it all the time. I really love the taste of lemon so I use a whole one instead of half and I like to change up the ingredients I use to add variety. For the leafy greens, sometimes I use kale, other times it is spinach or collard greens. I like to add some parsley sprigs, basil or mint for an earthier taste and the choices for fruit are pretty versatile too. Apples, peaches, and pears work best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have used this drink to loose weight. It works! I juice three times a day for five days, then prepare regular meals for the week-ends. I have lost 18 pounds in 15 weeks. Increased energy, and I do not feel hungry. I also allow myself to have some fresh fruit with the juice during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Perfect recipe. Sometimes I add some protein powder and call it breakfast! It's delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healthy Green Juice

This healthy juice features kale, cucumber, apples, ginger, and lemon.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States