Healthy Green Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is the Mean Green recipe made famous in the movie "Fat. Sick and Nearly Dead". It's one of the most used green juice recipes out there and there's a good reason. The flavor is slightly sweet (apples) and a bit spicy (ginger). It's really easy to digest and very filling. The hardest part about making this juice will be cleaning your juicer. That's always a bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is a great tasting juice! The ginger, lemon, and apples really blend the kale in well. I used 1/2 a lemon and 2 full leaves of kale for my first try ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Tiffany~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This green juice tastes mostly of celery. After a few sips, I added a cup of grapes to tone down the celery and sweeten a little more. Very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was my first time trying green juice so maybe this is a 5 star recipe for green juices but I did not care for it at all. My husband on the other hand said it was ok but not a 5 star. Will not be making this one gain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Was drinkable and no doubt healthy but not my fav. this is something you consume bc its good for you not bc you love to drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I've substituted spinach for the kale and pineapple for the apple. Definitely a good drink for breakfast. I don't use the celery and will have to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I love this juice recipe. I use it all the time. I really love the taste of lemon so I use a whole one instead of half and I like to change up the ingredients I use to add variety. For the leafy greens, sometimes I use kale, other times it is spinach or collard greens. I like to add some parsley sprigs, basil or mint for an earthier taste and the choices for fruit are pretty versatile too. Apples, peaches, and pears work best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Only had 4 pieces of Kale, otherwise followed as stated. I think next time I'll add 1 whole lemon and some more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I have been using this recipe for about 3 weeks. Of the "very healthy" juicer recipes I have tried I like the taste and effects of this best. I don't make faces when I drink it like some of them! In fact I rather like the flavor. I don't peel or de-leaf anything and I usually use 8-10 kale leaves and a bit more ginger. I like that my husband and I are consuming 2 to 3 x as much fresh fruits and veggies with just 8 oz of this per day. My skin has improved, I am less hungry duirng the day, and even at the end of a long day I am still going strong. I didn't expect that at all... just wanted to eat healthier and use the juicer that has been sitting for far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My husband and I are enjoying this Green drink. We love it and we are noticing that we do not feel hungry after drinking this juice, it is refreshing and all good things do not taste good! but we love the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Green Juice

This healthy juice features kale, cucumber, apples, ginger, and lemon.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States