Healthy Green Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe is what I call a "starter" recipe. It is an excellent beginning point. Beginners can "start here" and then personalize to their individual taste. The most important element of juicing is to enjoy it! The alternatives facing most people may propel them to initiate juicing, but to continue, you should embrace the "healthyness", (to paraphrase Stephen Colbert), and create a flavor that matches your particular taste. 1) It is difficult, but possible, to transition from 20 years of "jeroboam" sized Coca-Colas to green juice. 2) The right equipment does make a difference. The high speed, rotary, Breville's are a starting point, but if you are making a long-term health change, then I recommend an auger style. Personally, I find the Champion an excellent value that should last a heavy juicer 4 years of faithful use before needing to replace the rasping auger. A typical Breville of 850 to 1000 watts might get you through 2 years befor needing total replacement. Auger-styled Champions pay for themselves in extraction efficiency in the first year. ( I juice approximately $200. of fruits and vegetables a month for my wife and I.) 3) Personalize your juice for the taste palate you have today. Over time this will change as you mature your taste buds, weening them away from the daily overdose of salts and sugars. Add more lemon, lime, ginger, mint, jalapeño, horseradish or cilantro to enhance the flavor. Chill, then drink asap for better flavor and the most benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Believe me....DISGUSTING! Edible if you're a horse or a rabbit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This drink wasn't necessarily something that would satisfy a sweet tooth by any means. However, the flavors neutralize each other very well and allow you to down this healthy drink without cringing! For those with more sensitive taste buds, I might recommend toning down the ginger just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Preston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I just got a juicer because I decided I want to add green juice to my breakfast everyday! This taste better than I thought it would. I tried it exact as the recipe states, but I find it tastes even better with the addition of pineapple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I didn't care for this at all. Flavor wasn't great, however I put through blender and not a juicer not sure it would of made a difference in my liking it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Really good!! First timer & forgot the ginger but I'll repeat tomorrow with it. Made 1/2 of the ingredients for one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
The Kale and the celery over take the taste of the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I am almost done making it. Do I peel the lemon all the way to the fruit or just that 1 layer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I guess that's what they call a green juice lol. But in all fairness it's fresh and tasty. So if you care for the green juice thing, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I'm a starter juicer and found this to be delicious! I didn't use celery because I'm still not a complete greens lover haha but the rest was wonderful and you really tasted the tang of those apples more than anything else. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noelleabell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Green Juice

This healthy juice features kale, cucumber, apples, ginger, and lemon.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States