Healthy Creamy Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was wonderful.I used a mixture of shredded cheese and then mixed the sauce up with my immersion blender. No need to heat it up as the heat from the cauliflower melted the shredded cheese. I used whole grain macaroni and popped this under the broiler to get top browned. I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I love this idea. While I did make changes (added salsa, reduced pasta and cheese, used sour cream instead of yogurt, used water instead of chicken broth, left out the nutmeg, bread crumbs, oil and yeast flakes) due to my own personal tastes, the recipe is great as written as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Delicious. I prefer this to regular mac and cheese which seems bland in comparison to this. I mashed only half of the cauliflower and left the rest in small florets. First time using the nutritional yeast, it was a good discovery. Used regular cheddar, not reduced fat. Have tried both and the reduced fat does not melt as well. Served with sweet hot mustard chicken thighs. A good pairing. Will try it with meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yesnomaybeso7
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was great and no one could tell that there was cauliflower in it. Used some Mexican cheese and no yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I was a little skeptical about this dish, especially since it was the first time using nutritional yeast. It was amazingly delicious and is now permanently in my routine recipe stash. I used a large clove of garlic, rather than the powder and italian bread crumbs since that's all I had. Switched out the reduced-fat for some sharp cheddar and asiago, plus added a yellow onion. Thanks for yummy gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! Did without mustard and made with gluten free pasta. Boyfriend who hates veggies had no idea there was cauliflower in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, but found I needed a whole 16 oz box of pasta, instead of the 8 oz. It has become a regular in my kitchen. Kids prefer it to the traditional mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent! We like to add ham or turkey bacon to give it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Made it with half the cauliflower and no cayenne as I was hoping to ease my picky 5-year-old into eating it. He said he liked it, but didn't eat as much as he would of boxed mac & cheese. The yogurt sort of curdled, so it wasn't creamy at all, but I thought it was delicious. If I make it again I will try: - Not cooking the cauliflower in advance. Baking should be enough. - Slightly less yeast. (Although I love nutritional yeast, the flavor was more upfront than I want.) - Add cayenne, black pepper, or maybe even hot sauce during the prep. - More garlic and maybe onion flakes, too. - Some egg whites to help it congeal and add more protein. - Maybe some cottage cheese. - Top with a layer of cheese and less breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was skeptical when I had to blend the cauliflower, but it turned out perfectly proportioned and delicious. I also added chicken to the sauce for protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Kaminski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States