Healthy Creamy Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was wonderful.I used a mixture of shredded cheese and then mixed the sauce up with my immersion blender. No need to heat it up as the heat from the cauliflower melted the shredded cheese. I used whole grain macaroni and popped this under the broiler to get top browned. I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! Did without mustard and made with gluten free pasta. Boyfriend who hates veggies had no idea there was cauliflower in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I love this idea. While I did make changes (added salsa, reduced pasta and cheese, used sour cream instead of yogurt, used water instead of chicken broth, left out the nutmeg, bread crumbs, oil and yeast flakes) due to my own personal tastes, the recipe is great as written as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made this as written, but without the nutritional yeast because I did not have any on hand. I liked it, but my kids wouldn't touch it (not sure why, they had no idea it was cauliflower!) and my husband said it was just ok. The flavor and texture are light, although not quite mac & cheese-like. I don't think it was the recipe writer's intention to "hide" the vegetables, and if that is what you are looking for, I don't think this recipe will help you do that. The flavor and texture of the sauce is not close enough. However, if you like cauliflower and are looking for a lighter and healthier version of the classic recipe, this is a good one to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just added a little sprinkle of extra cheese, and had high hopes. It was bland and I did not care for the yogurt. Removing it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was skeptical when I had to blend the cauliflower, but it turned out perfectly proportioned and delicious. I also added chicken to the sauce for protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Kaminski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I was a little skeptical about this dish, especially since it was the first time using nutritional yeast. It was amazingly delicious and is now permanently in my routine recipe stash. I used a large clove of garlic, rather than the powder and italian bread crumbs since that's all I had. Switched out the reduced-fat for some sharp cheddar and asiago, plus added a yellow onion. Thanks for yummy gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
My family did not like this. They said it tasted too bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, but found I needed a whole 16 oz box of pasta, instead of the 8 oz. It has become a regular in my kitchen. Kids prefer it to the traditional mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I am trying to find recipes that incorporate more veggies, but we didn't care for the at all. It was very bland (and I even ended up doubling the cheese!) Weird texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States