Healthy Creamy Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was wonderful.I used a mixture of shredded cheese and then mixed the sauce up with my immersion blender. No need to heat it up as the heat from the cauliflower melted the shredded cheese. I used whole grain macaroni and popped this under the broiler to get top browned. I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I love this idea. While I did make changes (added salsa, reduced pasta and cheese, used sour cream instead of yogurt, used water instead of chicken broth, left out the nutmeg, bread crumbs, oil and yeast flakes) due to my own personal tastes, the recipe is great as written as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Delicious. I prefer this to regular mac and cheese which seems bland in comparison to this. I mashed only half of the cauliflower and left the rest in small florets. First time using the nutritional yeast, it was a good discovery. Served with sweet hot mustard chicken thighs. A good pairing. Will try it with meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yesnomaybeso7
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was great and no one could tell that there was cauliflower in it. Used some Mexican cheese and no yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made some minor changes; light sour cream instead of Greek yogurt, no yeast flakes and no nutmeg. This recipe was easy and delish! I don't even like cauliflower and my daughter knew what was in it and ate it all up. Beats the heaviness of my tasty but cheese heavy Mac and cheese. Will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I would have rated it a 4, because once I added some garlic salt, it was great, but my wife would have rated it a 1 or 2, because she said she could taste the cauliflower, and hated it. So...I rated it in the middle :) I didn't put the yeast flakes, but left everything else as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I was a little skeptical about this dish, especially since it was the first time using nutritional yeast. It was amazingly delicious and is now permanently in my routine recipe stash. I used a large clove of garlic, rather than the powder and italian bread crumbs since that's all I had. Switched out the reduced-fat for some sharp cheddar and asiago, plus added a yellow onion. Thanks for yummy gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! Did without mustard and made with gluten free pasta. Boyfriend who hates veggies had no idea there was cauliflower in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States