Healthy Creamy Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I am trying to find recipes that incorporate more veggies, but we didn't care for the at all. It was very bland (and I even ended up doubling the cheese!) Weird texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
The taste of Greek yogurt was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent! We like to add ham or turkey bacon to give it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
My family did not like this. They said it tasted too bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Made it with half the cauliflower and no cayenne as I was hoping to ease my picky 5-year-old into eating it. He said he liked it, but didn't eat as much as he would of boxed mac & cheese. The yogurt sort of curdled, so it wasn't creamy at all, but I thought it was delicious. If I make it again I will try: - Not cooking the cauliflower in advance. Baking should be enough. - Slightly less yeast. (Although I love nutritional yeast, the flavor was more upfront than I want.) - Add cayenne, black pepper, or maybe even hot sauce during the prep. - More garlic and maybe onion flakes, too. - Some egg whites to help it congeal and add more protein. - Maybe some cottage cheese. - Top with a layer of cheese and less breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYJI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made this as written, but without the nutritional yeast because I did not have any on hand. I liked it, but my kids wouldn't touch it (not sure why, they had no idea it was cauliflower!) and my husband said it was just ok. The flavor and texture are light, although not quite mac & cheese-like. I don't think it was the recipe writer's intention to "hide" the vegetables, and if that is what you are looking for, I don't think this recipe will help you do that. The flavor and texture of the sauce is not close enough. However, if you like cauliflower and are looking for a lighter and healthier version of the classic recipe, this is a good one to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just added a little sprinkle of extra cheese, and had high hopes. It was bland and I did not care for the yogurt. Removing it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, but found I needed a whole 16 oz box of pasta, instead of the 8 oz. It has become a regular in my kitchen. Kids prefer it to the traditional mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was skeptical when I had to blend the cauliflower, but it turned out perfectly proportioned and delicious. I also added chicken to the sauce for protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Kaminski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! Did without mustard and made with gluten free pasta. Boyfriend who hates veggies had no idea there was cauliflower in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States