Healthy Coconut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Fabulous! This not only tastes good, but is good for you! The flavor combination is wonderful - just the right amount of sweetness and the crunch from the walnuts is a nice touch. I used plain milk and added a bit of vanilla. I topped it with vanilla yogurt and the optional honey which really put this over the top! Great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This is absolutely delicious!!! I make it EVERY Sunday night and bring it to work for the whole week. It is just as excellent reheated! I customize quantities and kinds of nuts and dried fruit... I've found its great with chopped almonds and extra coconut. I also like to top it with freshly cut banana or blueberries! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I used regular milk that I added a teaspoon of vanilla. I cooked the oatmeal in my rice cooker, adding in the maple syrup, raisins, and cranberries and letting it cook with the milk and oats. This was so good. The combination of the fruit with the creamy oatmeal, the crunchy nuts and chewy coconut with a maple-y flavor was just incredible. We all really loved this oatmeal. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is THE BEST oatmeal I have had yet. I made some minor modifications that do not significantly alter the recipe. I scaled it down for 2 servings; combined 1% milk and quick oats in the microwave on high for 2 minutes, added the maple syrup and fruit, returned to microwave for 1 more minute, and then added the walnuts and coconut. It was perfectly sweet without the added honey. I love the combination of walnuts and coconut, which gives this oatmeal just the right amount of interest and pleasant crunch. Next time I am going to try it with steel cuts as I prefer them over regular. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
EXCELLENT. I am just learning to eat oatmeal and by the time I add enough brown sugar to my taste it is no longer healthy, but with the added fruit to this one I only needed a small amount of honey. Tomorrow I think I will substitute dates for the cranberries. The possibilities are endless. Thank you some much for helping me in my venture to healthier eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This would probably also be excellent with some banana and/or pineapple. I couldn't taste the maple syrup (used 1 tsp for a single serving of oats) so I'd probably just skip it entirely next time. The fruits lend plenty of flavor anyway. A nice variation for morning oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Really liked this oatmeal, although next time I would like to try using 1/2 milk, 1/2 water, or maybe try regular milk instead of soy. My oatmeal came out a little too thick for my liking. One thing I did differently which I will do next time is toast the walnuts before adding. Not sure what the coconut did to the oatmeal, I couldn't really taste it. Next time I think I'll add some coconut or vanilla extract to the milk. Overall a good filling breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
It tastes good. But I'm not so sure how "healthy" it is... People have this concept that unless its packed with fats or artificial this or that, a dish is healthy. Make no mistake - this is a dessert. There's fiber in the bran, but aside from a couple of walnuts - its all carbs. Maple syrup, raisins, cranberries, sweetened flaked coconut, and honey is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Wow - this oatmeal is amazing. After scrambling after my morning workouts to quickly make oatmeal (with nothing) - this is a great change. I love the coconut and I agree that the walnuts really give this texture. I would lessen the maple syrup to a little less than 1/4 cup and definitely do not add the honey. It is naturally sweet enough with the raisins and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was good, but nothing to write home about. I used 2% milk instead and dried blueberries instead of raisens. I love coconut, so that was great, but it needed to be punched up a bit. Maybe a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States