Healthy Coconut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I used regular milk that I added a teaspoon of vanilla. I cooked the oatmeal in my rice cooker, adding in the maple syrup, raisins, and cranberries and letting it cook with the milk and oats. This was so good. The combination of the fruit with the creamy oatmeal, the crunchy nuts and chewy coconut with a maple-y flavor was just incredible. We all really loved this oatmeal. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Wow - this oatmeal is amazing. After scrambling after my morning workouts to quickly make oatmeal (with nothing) - this is a great change. I love the coconut and I agree that the walnuts really give this texture. I would lessen the maple syrup to a little less than 1/4 cup and definitely do not add the honey. It is naturally sweet enough with the raisins and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This would probably also be excellent with some banana and/or pineapple. I couldn't taste the maple syrup (used 1 tsp for a single serving of oats) so I'd probably just skip it entirely next time. The fruits lend plenty of flavor anyway. A nice variation for morning oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Really liked this oatmeal, although next time I would like to try using 1/2 milk, 1/2 water, or maybe try regular milk instead of soy. My oatmeal came out a little too thick for my liking. One thing I did differently which I will do next time is toast the walnuts before adding. Not sure what the coconut did to the oatmeal, I couldn't really taste it. Next time I think I'll add some coconut or vanilla extract to the milk. Overall a good filling breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Yum! This had the perfect level of sweetness for me. I don't buy soy milk, so I just used regular but other than that I made as written omitting the optional yoghurt and adding only a little honey. I'll be making this for breakfast regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
The absolute BEST oatmeal ever!!!! Love everything about it! Never added yogurt to my oatmeal before but it was yum and added a wonderful creaminess! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is THE BEST oatmeal I have had yet. I made some minor modifications that do not significantly alter the recipe. I scaled it down for 2 servings; combined 1% milk and quick oats in the microwave on high for 2 minutes, added the maple syrup and fruit, returned to microwave for 1 more minute, and then added the walnuts and coconut. It was perfectly sweet without the added honey. I love the combination of walnuts and coconut, which gives this oatmeal just the right amount of interest and pleasant crunch. Next time I am going to try it with steel cuts as I prefer them over regular. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Great oatmeal! I used 1/2 unsweetened almond milk and 1/2 water. I cut the recipe in half and it was just enough for the 2 of us. Even without the honey on top, it was just sweet enough. The maple and coconut flavors went great together. Hubby says, "It's unlike any oatmeal I've had before!" (That's good, btw.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Best Oatmeal Ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
yumo! used light vanilla soy milk and maple flavoring and left out craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States