Healthy Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
These are very, very good and healthy! I used chunky applesauce instead of the oil and spiced rum instead of vanilla. I also added about 1/3 cup honey and another 1/2 cup of oatmeal, and left out the dates. They were SO easy and SO quick!! They didn't make a big mess of my kitchen either; no flour or milk or whatever to spill everywhere. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
682 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
My children love these cookies! I have made them with other dried fruits, chopped apples, even mini chocolate chips! I've also baked them in a bar pan for quick soft granola bars. Use parchment paper or grease pan--the banana caramelizes leaving a sticky residue. This is my favorite kid snack recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is a great recipe, the cookies were moist, chewy & very sweet despite being sugar free. The texture is really good. I used chopped dried apricots and raisins instead of dates. They don't spread so you need to flatten them, they turn out the same shape they go in. Make sure you add some spices to it like cinnamon and nutmeg. Loved these, And I don't feel as guilty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
This was a very good recipe. After reading the comments below I added 3 diced apples, 1/4 cup of walnuts, 1 more cup of oatmeal, 1 tsp each of cinnamon and nutmeg, used the applesauce instead of the oil, added 1/4 cup of coconut, 1/4 cup of wheat germ and 1/2 cup of honey. I also reduced the heat to 325 and the time to 15 minutes. It sounds like it was a lot more work but I found it absolutely delicious and the apples made it VERY juicy. I also greased the cookie sheet with Pam. My son (4) helped me make them and I had to put him on "time-out" for reaching onto the cookie sheet on the stove for another while I wasn't looking. I guess they're good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
These cookies are my favorite healthy treat! I too substitute the oil for applesauce and add nuts, cinnamon, cranberries and raisins. I am not a big fan of dates so I leave them out. I have made these at least 10 times already using all different sorts of dried fruit combinations. They are even good with dried blueberries. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
These are great little healthy cookie bites. Bananas and dates make a great sweetener and if you add a bit of cinnamon, cloves, allspice (or whatever), they end up tasting like little banana bread bites. Very good. Very addicting. If you like your cookies sugar-sweet or crispy, then they aren't for you. Sweetness relies on the ripeness of the bananas and sweetness of the dates (so they could be very sweet or only mildly so). Cookies turn out soft. I loved them, and will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
The one thing to remember here is this is a HEALTHY cookie. I put nutmeg, cinnamon and extra vanilla in mine and used dried cranberries and dates. They burn very quickly so keep an eye on them. I think I'll try pressing them into bars with mini chocolate chips next. I took them to work and they were inhaled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These were pretty good...although the oil was a bit much...I would definately subsitute for applesauce. Since these cookies don't spread when they bake, I would also make the shape you want as an end product initially...I would also make the dough balls smaller so they bake crispier. This was a fun recipe though! Great for college because the ingredients were pretty available. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
It's so hard to find cookie recipes without refined sugars or artificial sweeteners in them. I tried these cookies and my boys LOVED them. I added some chopped apple and cinammon to the recipe and they are a huge hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
What is with all the negative reviews on this recipe? I have been a "health nut" for many years, and this is the FIRST healthy cookie recipe that was actually good! I did follow others' substitutions and additions: 1/2 c applesauce instead of oil Added: 1/3 c honey 1/2 c oatmeal 1 tsp. each cinnamon and nutmeg 1/4 c walnuts The batch made 25 cookies, and here is the nutritional information that I calculated: 88 Calories 1g Total Fat 0 mg Cholesterol 1 mg Sodium 19 g Total Carbs 2 g Dietary Fiber 2 g Protein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PianoGirl1982

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States