Healthy Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I love these cookies! I followed suggestions and used applesauce instead. I made two batches; in both I added about two heaping tablespoons of peanut butter when mashing the bananas (so yummy!)! In the first batch I also substituted the dates for dried cranberries, since I had them around. They were a little tart, and couldn't really taste the peanut butter over it, but added a great kick to the cookie! In my second batch, I didn't add the cranberries at all, and added a bit more peanut butter. Thanks to Elvis Presley for the amazing peanut butter/banana idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe! I've been looking for something like this for a long time. Made bars out of them: I added 3 c. oats, 1/4 c. wheat germ, 1/2 c. dried blueberries+1/2 c. chopped almonds (instead of the dates), 1/4c chocolate chips, and 1/3 cup coconut oil! Came out fantastic! Next time I will spread in a longer pan for crispier bars. Using a 9x13 pan makes chewy bars. Drizzled some honey on top before and after baking. Grrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YayForFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I would definately throw in some walnuts or even chocolate chips and use apple sauce (but not too much) instead of oil. The cookies definately grow on you. Not too bad for "healthy cookies"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I didn't have dates so I used apricots instead. My toddler gobbled these up and begged for them, but I didn't think they had enough flavor for adults. Could be great with some modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennbo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I tried to like this but mine were to gooey rather than being chewy. I followed exactly minus the oil; I added applesauce instead. I might try the recipe once I figure out what it's missing...maybe I need to add brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Nice healthy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I love making these so much! I always make them in different shapes each time and they're so delicious! I think that they keep well in the fridge in an air-tight container, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Made these last night! From reading the other reviews, I did go ahead and use applesauce instead of oil and raisins instead of dates. I then added apples and cinnamon. They actually turned out very yummy!! The only thing I was unsure of is how to store them afterwards? After amount 45 mins the crisp of the cookies turned a little mushy. So, I went ahead and placed them in the fridge overnight and then this morning I popped one in the microwave just to see how it would taste. The crisp was definetly gone but they taste MUCH better warm(trust me, I tried it cold...yuck)!! Hope this helps. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
These cookies are delicious. They taste a bit like banana bread with a similar texture. I substituted 1/3 unsweetened applesauce for the 1/3 cup vegetable oil. I also added some chopped pecans, dark chocolate chips, golden and regular raisins, and dried cranberries to the second batch. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gold Beach, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
utterly HORRIBLE! pity I wasted my bananas on these, they were so bad. I would definitely suggest adding some of the extra ingredients mentioned in other reviews otherwise all your going to get is a gross tasting spongy mass of oats,dates and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States