Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Really good! I definitely needed to double it! I added an extra banana, substituted butter for apple sauce ,(because we did not have any), added more milk, and added some cinnamon and salt. (I read some reviews) Loved the oats in it, it added a different texture that I liked. I also baked it in a square pan. Can't wait to bake it again! (As muffins, possibly doubled. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
made a batch of 48 the first time I tried this recipe. I added some frozen blueberries raspberries and Blackk berries just for more flavour and they turned out so great! I used any old Apple sauce cups I had a around even a cranberry Apple sauce and I used homogenized milk instead of skim because it's all I had. I used quick oats too! This recipe is super flexible and great for when you need to get rid off a few frozen banks and any other stuff in your fridge! Tailor and flavour it to your preference and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly gilgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The muffins were pretty good but not as soft and moist as I like. Maybe more applesauce was needed. Update: I made these muffins again but with some changes.... (original review of three stars remains for original recipe). I used instant instead of rolled oats, I used sour cream instead of milk, I added about two tablespoons of extra applesauce, added two pinches of salt and a splash of vanilla, as well as cinnamon and nutmeg. Instead of chocolate chips I used raisins because that's what I was in the mood for. They turned out great. A lot moister than last time and just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessMel
Home Town: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
yes..very good but did add vanilla, allspice and some wheat germ. Very moist and loved that there is no butter in this recipe so much healthier for you! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Gear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
A tasty nutritious muffin. Used dark chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Made these today. They came out pretty good. Even my picky husband liked them. I did have to make a few changes based on what I had on hand (quick oats, dark chocolate chips, white whole wheat flour, and 2% milk), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KathrynSmo98
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Tasted and looked good but stuck to the cupcake wrappers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I think it's a good recipe to customize in your own way. Which is what I did. I used egg whites only & light almond milk which I increased by a little for more moisture. I put some baby carrots through the food processor and used them instead of applesauce because I didn't have any. I also used a combination of gluten free, unbleached white and flax meal for the flour. Used 1/2 raw honey & 1/2 brown sugar. I added a little cinnamon, nutmeg, a couple tablespoons of melted Earth Balance and a pinch of salt. Also, per other suggestions, a teaspoon of vanilla. Honestly, the thing I liked the least was the chocolate. The bites with multiple chocolate. Chips are sooooo sweet! I'm not a huge fan of chocolate like some people but I made these mostly for some guests I'm having. Maybe the tiny chocolate chips and less of them? I believe I would prefer these with raisins or dates instead of chocolate chips. I will make them again but will try raisins and maybe some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe. It was good except there was a baking powder after taste. I did it according to the recipe. I will be making these again but next time I will use half the baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
They are amazing! Now, the best recommendation I can give is that you use a very ripe banana. Trust me when I tell you that the texture is much more moist/tasteful when you use a ripe one rather than a regular yellow/green one. I also add almonds shavings or cranberries depending if I have those ingredients in stock. You can always add something to them. I usually warm them up in the oven or microwave because they do tend to get a little hard the day after. I have them as snacks or for breakfast and I accompany them with some peanut butter or greek yogurt. My husband makes me bake these every two weeks mainly because they're low cal and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States