Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I'm really surprised at the 5* reviews. Did those people REALLY use whole wheat flour? I confess - I modified the recipe and only used 1/2 c. whole wheat and 1 cup of white flour... but the result was that the muffins were STILL really heavy in texture. I also have to say I agree with the reviewers who said the flavor was bland. Maybe some cinnamon should be added? Either way, between the oats and the whole wheat, the texture is really dense. I'm all for "healthy" muffins but I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by avkeeley
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I think this recipe is a bit bland. Next time I will add some spices...cinnamon for sure and maybe some nutmeg and vanilla. I used half whole wheat, half all purpose flour. I didn't have applesauce so I used 1/4 c canola oil and upped the milk to 1/3 c and extra banana. They are moist and baked up well, just needs a little more flavor in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Very good recipe. I used honey instead of sugar, I added pecans and a little bit of coconut oil and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I really liked this recipe and cannot stop eating them. I used brown sugar instead of white, used sour cream instead of skim milk, used melted Earth Balance spread instead of applesauce and added 1 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TA Beke
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
While I altered the ingredients a little (soy milk, vanilla, flax seeds, less sugar + honey instead), these are dense and do get a little dry. I made full size and minis - at least they look cute, taste isn't half bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I made these today and they are awsome!!! I added some spices and substituted 1/2 cup of butter for the apple sauce. They are healthy and deliciouse!! I'l definitely make them again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherbear
Home Town: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Recklessangel
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Loved this recipe. Like other bakers I changed a few things. First of all I doubled the recipe and used butter instead of applesauce. I used 1 cup rolled oats but pulsed it in the food processor for a finer texture. I used 1/2 cup wheat germ, 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour instead of all whole wheat flour. I added 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp cinnamon and 1 tbsp vanilla extract. I doubled the milk as advised by others. Doubling the recipe made 12 cupcake size muffins and 1 large bread loaf and added walnuts to the top of the loaf only. My husband and kids loved it so oooooooh much....... It was super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I loved this recipe. I did have to make changes because of diabetes. I used Splenda in place of sugar, light soy milk in place of milk and broken up sugar free Hershey bars in place of chocolate chips. I loved this recipe because I can eat it with minor changes. It was moist and It didn't taste healthy. It tastes good diabetic or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Dose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
These muffins are delicious. The only changes I made were to add 1/2 t salt, add a little bit of flax meal, and use quick cooking oats. Thanks for the great recipe! It's a hit for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I tried the recipe with minimal changes, after reading other reviews. I added a tsp. of vanilla and a 1/2 Tbsp. of cinnamon. I also did 1/4 c brown and 1/4 c white sugar, and 1 large egg plus 2 egg whites. I will admit, I added some more chocolate chips...I love chocolate...Overall, the flavor was great, but a a little dry and too sweet for my liking. I think I will cut back on the sugar (nix the white sugar) and increase the amount of milk to make them more moist next time! Thanks for sharing though! I agree with others that this is a recipe that you can easily adjust to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States