Healthy Banana Chocolate Chip Oat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
They are amazing! Now, the best recommendation I can give is that you use a very ripe banana. Trust me when I tell you that the texture is much more moist/tasteful when you use a ripe one rather than a regular yellow/green one. I also add almonds shavings or cranberries depending if I have those ingredients in stock. You can always add something to them. I usually warm them up in the oven or microwave because they do tend to get a little hard the day after. I have them as snacks or for breakfast and I accompany them with some peanut butter or greek yogurt. My husband makes me bake these every two weeks mainly because they're low cal and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmandaT
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made these for my husband's birthday and he was in love. They're so gooey and yummy, they almost feel like you're eating a cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I found these to be pretty dense. Flavour wasn't bad but they didn't blow me away. Enjoyed trying the recipe though. Thanks Nichole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I also changed a few things. I used 1/2 cup butter instead of applesauce. I know it's less healthy, but I had butter in the house and not applesauce. I didn't measure the banana, but I used two very large bananas - I think it was closer to 1 3/4 cups. I also added 1/2 cup walnuts, 2 tsp vanilla and a 1 tsp salt. Instead of rolled oats I used quick oats. I did 1 cup whole wheat (then ran out) and used 1/2 cup all purpose white. They came out totally amazing, very moist, super yum - the kids (ages 5 and 7) each ate two straight out of the over and were still asking for me. I think my husband ate four! With the changes I made, it ended up being 18 muffins. I also don't fill the cups up too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I just made these and had one fresh out of the oven! I made a couple changes to the recipe after reading some reviews. I added 1/2 cup of milk (I used organic plain soy milk) and instead of the 1/2 cup of sugar I used 1/4 cup of honey. I cut down the sugar to make these healthier. I also used instant oats because that is what I had on hand. I ended up having enough batter for 14 muffins (may have been the extra milk). They tasted yummy fresh out of the oven. The chocolate chips add just the right amount of sweet. I put the recipe into my fitness pal and each muffin came out to 144 calories per muffin (26 carbs, 2 grams of fat, 4 grams of protein, 10 grams of sugar...still a bit much sugar for my taste) with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Delicious, moist and very yum! This was gobbled up in no time at my home. I did however have to use all-purpose flour instead of whole wheat and oil instead of applesauce (because I didn't have both of those on hand). In my attempt to still try and make these healthy, I put in just 2 tablespoons of sugar instead of the recommended 1/2 cup and that was plenty enough! I did take the suggestions of a few other reviewers and threw in a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of salt into the batter. Thanks for the recipe Nicole - I look forward to trying this with whole-wheat flour the next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
These are very good. I do not prefer apple sauce as it makes muffins sticky, so I used a 1/2 cup of vegetable oil instead. I shied away from the full amount of whole wheat flour, subbing in a little white flour, but I love the whole wheat flavor so much (kind of nutty), that I wished I just followed the recipe on that point. I think walnuts would be good. Oh, one more thing… where is the salt in this recipe? I added a 1/2 teaspoon which was good. UPDATE: I made these again with coconut, walnuts and a sprinkle of flax seeds. Delish! Be sure to bake until they get a little browned on top for it makes them taste toasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I added about a half cup of extra banana. I used quick oats instead. I added cinnamon and vanilla and used coconut milk in place of skim milk. They were moist and delicious. This is my new fav muffin recipe and the kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I loved this! I did change it a little to make it somewhat healthier. Instead of 2 large eggs, I used 1 medium egg & 1 egg white. Instead of rolled oats, I used old fashioned oats. Instead of skim milk, I used sweetened vanilla almond milk. Instead of white sugar, I used organic cane sugar. Turned out delicious & moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I really like this recipe and will probably use it from now on. It's hard to find recipes that use all WW flour and taste good. I made the following changes: I used butter instead of applesauce because I like the buttery flavour, I used coconut sugar instead of white because it's better for you, I added 1/2 tsp of salt, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp vanilla, I also used quick oats. Anyhow, they turned out perfect and next time I'll try with applesauce. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States