Healthy Baked Steel Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Just OK. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We love this. I do like to add more moisture (bananas, applesauce) for our taste. This morning's variation substituted pumpkin for the bananas, craisins for raisins, a teaspoon of cardamon for one of cinnamon, and included chopped almonds--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is not sweet at all. Great for toddlers. Add sugar if making for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was ok. In reading the recipe I could tell I wanted a little more flavor so I added shredded coconut and Amber grade Maple syrup. Even with those extras it was just ok. It's not a cake, to heavy. It's not a bar, too light and moist. It's like sweet oat quiche. I don't think leaving it over night helps much. I suspect if one baked it right after combining the mixtures together, it might be more cake like. I think leaving sit over night loses what ever raising abilities the baking powder had. I am going keep looking for something better to use steel cut oats in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N5232P
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used whole milk because that's all we had, but we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
There are easier recipies out there.. Added about a third of a cup of brown sugar could really taste the egg flavor, still easy to have on hand for a fast breakfast, did not like waiting seven hours before I could bake it:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Took 75 minutes before it was "dry" enough to cut properly. It was still quite oatmeal like - I wouldn't describe it as like a cake as other reviewers have. Overall it tasted just like baked steel cut oats with some spices - nice, but not sure it's worth the extra time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This bakes up like a cake! I wasn't sure how to serve this. Like pancakes with butter and syrup or fancy with whipped cream! I decided on just plain, this time! When still warm, this has an overwhelming banana taste, but when cool, the flavors blend. Either warm or cold, this tastes good. It is a cake with the ease of cutting into, but the texture isn't light and fluffy like most cakes! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States