Healthy Baked Steel Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Just OK. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We love this. I do like to add more moisture (bananas, applesauce) for our taste. This morning's variation substituted pumpkin for the bananas, craisins for raisins, a teaspoon of cardamon for one of cinnamon, and included chopped almonds--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is not sweet at all. Great for toddlers. Add sugar if making for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was ok. In reading the recipe I could tell I wanted a little more flavor so I added shredded coconut and Amber grade Maple syrup. Even with those extras it was just ok. It's not a cake, to heavy. It's not a bar, too light and moist. It's like sweet oat quiche. I don't think leaving it over night helps much. I suspect if one baked it right after combining the mixtures together, it might be more cake like. I think leaving sit over night loses what ever raising abilities the baking powder had. I am going keep looking for something better to use steel cut oats in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N5232P
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used whole milk because that's all we had, but we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
There are easier recipies out there.. Added about a third of a cup of brown sugar could really taste the egg flavor, still easy to have on hand for a fast breakfast, did not like waiting seven hours before I could bake it:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Took 75 minutes before it was "dry" enough to cut properly. It was still quite oatmeal like - I wouldn't describe it as like a cake as other reviewers have. Overall it tasted just like baked steel cut oats with some spices - nice, but not sure it's worth the extra time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This bakes up like a cake! I wasn't sure how to serve this. Like pancakes with butter and syrup or fancy with whipped cream! I decided on just plain, this time! When still warm, this has an overwhelming banana taste, but when cool, the flavors blend. Either warm or cold, this tastes good. It is a cake with the ease of cutting into, but the texture isn't light and fluffy like most cakes! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States