Healthy Baked Steel Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I know its weird but add 1/4 lb of diced country ham and a handful of dry roasted peanuts and maybe a little more salt. Cook it a bit longer too. Savory and sweet is a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Heinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is very filling, but I needed to add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Just OK. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Salsman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We love this. I do like to add more moisture (bananas, applesauce) for our taste. This morning's variation substituted pumpkin for the bananas, craisins for raisins, a teaspoon of cardamon for one of cinnamon, and included chopped almonds--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is not sweet at all. Great for toddlers. Add sugar if making for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was ok. In reading the recipe I could tell I wanted a little more flavor so I added shredded coconut and Amber grade Maple syrup. Even with those extras it was just ok. It's not a cake, to heavy. It's not a bar, too light and moist. It's like sweet oat quiche. I don't think leaving it over night helps much. I suspect if one baked it right after combining the mixtures together, it might be more cake like. I think leaving sit over night loses what ever raising abilities the baking powder had. I am going keep looking for something better to use steel cut oats in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N5232P
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used whole milk because that's all we had, but we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
There are easier recipies out there.. Added about a third of a cup of brown sugar could really taste the egg flavor, still easy to have on hand for a fast breakfast, did not like waiting seven hours before I could bake it:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Took 75 minutes before it was "dry" enough to cut properly. It was still quite oatmeal like - I wouldn't describe it as like a cake as other reviewers have. Overall it tasted just like baked steel cut oats with some spices - nice, but not sure it's worth the extra time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States