Healthier To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
While these muffins certainly are delish, I don't think they are exactly "healthy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I only made two small adjustments to this recipe. I used "soured" lactose-free milk and I added a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. I actually got 12 muffins out of this recipe, not 8. I did also bake mine at 350* and they were done at exactly 20 minutes. These muffins were nicely moist, perfectly sweet and had the perfect amount of blueberries--out of the 12 muffins I made, there are three left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Comparision. To Die For Muffins: Calories: 383 | Total Fat: 16.1g | Cholesterol: 43mg This recipe, Healthier To Die For: Calories: 317, Total Fat: 7 g, Cholesterol:43mg This recipe states :Healthier This recipe doesn't state: Healthy 5 Stars for this one. It is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I would give them five stars if they were really "healthier." Now, that being said...leave off the topping and make them in "regular" sized cups yeilding 16 muffins: You have yourself a 100 calorie treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Great muffins! I also tried this recipe with a few modifications. Instead of miik I used almond milk (vanilla flavor). Also instead of 1-1/2 cup flour, I used 1 cup of flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I was a tad nervous making a "healthier" muffin, but these came out moist, springy, and absolutely delish! I even used frozen berries since I had them in the freezer, and was 1/2 cup short but they are still bursting with berries! Put 2.8oz batter in each little cup, leaving only enough room for crumb topping and the muffin tops came out great! I had tons of topping left over though so you may want to make less to save waste. Made for Western Region Allstars Faceless Frenzy July 2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Just made these muffins according to the recipe (which is the way a recipe should be reviewed the first time)but used a 12 muffin pan for smaller muffins. Came out great, but a little sweet, next time I'll reduce the sugar to one cup in the batter. Great taste just as is. Lots of blueberries makes it extra good. Sharyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Wailuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I altered this recipe and was pleased with the results. I skipped the crumb topping and sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on top of each muffin (before baking). I used 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour & 3/4 cup white flour. I added 2 tablespoons whole ground flaxseed meal and 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract. Yummy and healthy. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I have made "To Die For Blueberry Muffins" for a couple years now and love them. I don't like the crumb topping regardless so I either make them plain or pull them out a couple minutes early, brush the tops with beaten egg white and sprinkle raw sugar on for the last couple minutes of baking. These were ok. I used homemade applesauce that was thicker than store-bought so that might be some of the issue. To me, for the few calories you save just make the real ones and enjoy them. Neither recipe is weight watchers friendly and one tastes far better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Honestly? They were just OK. Made exactly as recipe states. Not impressed. Not worth the time and trouble it takes to make them especially when a good boxed recipe using wild Maine blueberries actually tastes much, much better. Next time a craving sets in, will head to the baking aisle of the local grocery and get a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States