Healthier To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
SALT? Not required?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I altered this recipe and was pleased with the results. I skipped the crumb topping and sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on top of each muffin (before baking). I used 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour & 3/4 cup white flour. I added 2 tablespoons whole ground flaxseed meal and 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract. Yummy and healthy. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I have made "To Die For Blueberry Muffins" for a couple years now and love them. I don't like the crumb topping regardless so I either make them plain or pull them out a couple minutes early, brush the tops with beaten egg white and sprinkle raw sugar on for the last couple minutes of baking. These were ok. I used homemade applesauce that was thicker than store-bought so that might be some of the issue. To me, for the few calories you save just make the real ones and enjoy them. Neither recipe is weight watchers friendly and one tastes far better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
made it exactly as written, but used fresh blueberries I had frozen this summer. Excellent. Husband just raved and he doesnt rave unless he means it! This one is a keeper. OH, forgot that next time I would probably melt the butter for the topping and maybe cut back a little on the sugar and flour...had TONS lots over and tried to really pile it on. Still had lots left over. Hated to see it go to waste. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianasaurusrexx
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Great recipe, much better than any "box mix" because fresh ingredients are the best! Notes: * I made 10 medium-large muffins (full to the top, normal muffin pan). * I used more like 1 1/2 cups of large frozen blueberries (let thaw first!) and that was plenty of berry. * Make half the amount of crumb (and this covers 10 said muffins). I followed the recipe and ended up with way too much crumb topping left over. * Beware - make sure butter stays cold when creating crumb topping. * I used 1/2 cup buckwheat flour in the muffin mixture, in place of all-purpose flour, not enough to impact muffin texture. This yields a bit fewer carbohydrates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Wonderful! I made three changes. 1.frozen blueberries 2.no topping 3.donut pan. The frozen blueberries worked fine and I'll do it again. Not using a topping was fine also. Its a very sweet and tasty recipe. The donut pan wasn't perfect. They're a little moist for a donut pan but it was fun! Regarding being healther, they certainly are, especially without the topping! If they were strictly "healthy" the only ingredient would be blueberries ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These muffins smell great when they are in the oven!!! I changed the plain applesauce (didn't have any) and used Motts sensations Country Berry applesauce. I doubled the recipe, if you do this, don't double the topping, I have too much left over that I almost want to make another batch of muffins. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Ok I went a little cray cray changing this recipe up, simply because I was on a momentary healthy kick and had a bunch of stuff to use up. Used 1/2 butter & 1/2 coconut oil, used almond milk, added lemon juice & zest and some flax seed. They still turned out really good although I think I would use less sugar in the muffin mix next time, they were a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
OMG!!...These muffin's were amazing!......I substituted almond milk, added a tsp. of vanilla and used mixed berry applesauce (I was out of the plain), my whole family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I used Bob's Red Mill All Purpose flour to make these gluten free. They turned out really good! A little spongy but not bad. I included the Xantham gum that they recommended (1 1/2tsp) on the package. They really grew while baking to have nice caps but kind of shrunk back down as they cooled. 20 minutes was plenty at 400 degrees. The original recipe has always gone over well! I usually add some nutmeg and cinnamon to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States