Healthier Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Seemed to work great. I recommend using a small spatula to spread and doing so quickly before icing sets. I love that I had all the ingredients and didn't need to use yucky corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my mother used this recipe on her cookies...sorry but it's no good...it's too thin it slides off the cookies and it just doesn't taste good...If I'm going to eat a cookie it's going to taste good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Good, makes alot of sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was quick and easy to make & creates a nice, glossy, hard coating. However, the recipe, as is, makes enough for TWO dozen 2" x 3" cookies. I'm not sure why the recipe was written to make so much simple syrup when you only need 2 tsps of it, so I halved that part of the recipe....1/4 cup white sugar mixed with 1 Tbsp of water & used what was left (yes, there was still extra!) for a glass of iced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This worked well and decorated easily. However, I think that having so much leftover syrup is a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This icing works very well. It stays nice and fluid while working, and dries firmly with a nice sheen. Love the almond flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
A couple of tips - SIFT your powdered sugar. I didn't use my electric whisk (but if doubling do so) I sifted the sugar and used a small hand whisk. If the icing seems to thick, thin with more sugar syrup - a little at a time. Whisking well after each addition. These dried glossy and it was really easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This icing recipe worked SO well - dried hard and kept it's colours. I used a piping bag and various tips and they all held their shape. It did take more than 2 tsp of milk to make it smooth, more like 2-3 tbsp. I left out the almond flavoring and used vanilla instead. We frosted 'Soft Christmas Cookies' (from this website) and I was really pleased with the results. I am going to try it next time with orange or mint extract for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The recipe doubled nicely and didn't loose or fade the colours once dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and the milk and powdered sugar didn't come out smooth and adding the sugar syrup only made hard clumps. I added all the syrup 2 tsp. at a time and then more milk to get a bit of a glaze with hard sugar balls in it. If it wasn't so late & I didn't have work in the morning I would have tossed the stuff out made a glaze without graduated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Decorating Sugar Cookies

Make sugar cookies extra-festive with these easy decorating tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States