Healthier Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was perfect! I was out of corn syrup while we made Valentine cookies on a snowy day, so I didn't want to go to the store. This worked great for our cookies. It spread nicely and was the perfect consistency. It does dry very quickly, so ice cookies as soon as it is ready, so that you can spread it. I needed 3 tablespoons of the syrup and about 3 teaspoons of milk for the right texture. Everything else was perfect! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
For the most part, this recipe worked for me. I sifted the sugar like someone recommended. I added the ingredients exactly, but still the powdered sugar mixture was too thick. After adding 4 tsp of white sugar mix, I added a bit more milk to make icing easier. Also, I didn't have almond extract so I added coconut extract. Hmmmm...nice flavor. It didn't make as much as it said it would. Double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aleighxo
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Seemed to work great. I recommend using a small spatula to spread and doing so quickly before icing sets. I love that I had all the ingredients and didn't need to use yucky corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my mother used this recipe on her cookies...sorry but it's no good...it's too thin it slides off the cookies and it just doesn't taste good...If I'm going to eat a cookie it's going to taste good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Good, makes alot of sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was quick and easy to make & creates a nice, glossy, hard coating. However, the recipe, as is, makes enough for TWO dozen 2" x 3" cookies. I'm not sure why the recipe was written to make so much simple syrup when you only need 2 tsps of it, so I halved that part of the recipe....1/4 cup white sugar mixed with 1 Tbsp of water & used what was left (yes, there was still extra!) for a glass of iced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This worked well and decorated easily. However, I think that having so much leftover syrup is a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This icing works very well. It stays nice and fluid while working, and dries firmly with a nice sheen. Love the almond flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
A couple of tips - SIFT your powdered sugar. I didn't use my electric whisk (but if doubling do so) I sifted the sugar and used a small hand whisk. If the icing seems to thick, thin with more sugar syrup - a little at a time. Whisking well after each addition. These dried glossy and it was really easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Decorating Sugar Cookies

Make sugar cookies extra-festive with these easy decorating tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States