Healthier Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Seemed to work great. I recommend using a small spatula to spread and doing so quickly before icing sets. I love that I had all the ingredients and didn't need to use yucky corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my mother used this recipe on her cookies...sorry but it's no good...it's too thin it slides off the cookies and it just doesn't taste good...If I'm going to eat a cookie it's going to taste good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Good, makes alot of sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was quick and easy to make & creates a nice, glossy, hard coating. However, the recipe, as is, makes enough for TWO dozen 2" x 3" cookies. I'm not sure why the recipe was written to make so much simple syrup when you only need 2 tsps of it, so I halved that part of the recipe....1/4 cup white sugar mixed with 1 Tbsp of water & used what was left (yes, there was still extra!) for a glass of iced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This worked well and decorated easily. However, I think that having so much leftover syrup is a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This icing works very well. It stays nice and fluid while working, and dries firmly with a nice sheen. Love the almond flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
A couple of tips - SIFT your powdered sugar. I didn't use my electric whisk (but if doubling do so) I sifted the sugar and used a small hand whisk. If the icing seems to thick, thin with more sugar syrup - a little at a time. Whisking well after each addition. These dried glossy and it was really easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This icing recipe worked SO well - dried hard and kept it's colours. I used a piping bag and various tips and they all held their shape. It did take more than 2 tsp of milk to make it smooth, more like 2-3 tbsp. I left out the almond flavoring and used vanilla instead. We frosted 'Soft Christmas Cookies' (from this website) and I was really pleased with the results. I am going to try it next time with orange or mint extract for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
The recipe doubled nicely and didn't loose or fade the colours once dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I followed the directions exactly and the milk and powdered sugar didn't come out smooth and adding the sugar syrup only made hard clumps. I added all the syrup 2 tsp. at a time and then more milk to get a bit of a glaze with hard sugar balls in it. If it wasn't so late & I didn't have work in the morning I would have tossed the stuff out made a glaze without graduated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Decorating Sugar Cookies

Make sugar cookies extra-festive with these easy decorating tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States