Healthier Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
We love stuffed peppers, but we don't love the heartburn most stuffed peppers cause. Fixed these for lunch today as per recipe, except we drained the browned meat and washed the excess grease off under hot running water. Then we placed the seeded peppers (green only) in boiling water for 5 minutes to soften them. They were awesome, with no need for the Tums. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was good. I used ground turkey and added salt and pepper while it was browning in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very good! The only thing I did differently is to use seasoned black pepper and I added powdered onion and garlic. I cooked these in the crock pot and they came out perfect! VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Used a 16oz can tomato sauce on the top and subbed Spike for the Italian seasoning which I mixed directly into the meat mixture. Sprinkle cheddar cheese on the top, baked covered for 45 minutes and uncovered 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I only used 3 peppers and halved them to make 6. I added 1 tbsp chili powder, because I thought it would be too bland as written. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
GREAT! :) I skipped the parm. and I actually used Pablano peppers instead of the traditional green peppers. it was super delish. perfect traditional recipe, with my own spin. husband says we will never make stuffed peppers without using pablanos again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maxine
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I halved the peppers and enjoyed every great bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I used red bell peppers out of my garden - cut in half for easier stuffing and serving. I covered with foil to eliminate the need for basting. Uncovered and cooked 5 minutes with the parm on top. I have a couple picky eaters in my house and these were a home run. They even ate leftovers - which NEVER happens. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I too added chili powder and used turkey meat! I also chopped up one fresh jalapeno and threw it in with the turkey and onion while it cooked and used Italian creamy garlic rice instead of brown rice. I also substituted tomato sauce with Ragu roasted garlic pasta sauce. Cut peppers in half and sprinkled with Colby jack cheese and parsley! OMGosh!! to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I made these for the family. Everyone loved them. My husband ate leftovers 3 days later (I made 20 halves because I have a large family) and they were still moist and taste the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States