Healthier Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Excellent everything! I used half coconut oil(butter) and also sucanet (sugar) and they are fabulous!! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I really enjoy making healthy switches to some of my favorites. Oatmeal cookie have long been a favorite. I made this recipe for my son's class. They were a huge hit!! All the parents asked for the recipe. I used 1/2 raisins and 1/2 cranberries in stead of dates for the batch I took to his class. I added 1/4 c unsweetened coconut flakes and 2 tbsp of flaxseed and unsweetened applesauce to the batch I made for us. My family devoured them! This is definitely a KEEPER. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
So here's what I did: 1) I added 1 cup of pecans to the mix 2) I did not chill the dough, just dropped it by teaspoonfuls onto the cookie sheet 3) Didn't press down the mounds of dough with a fork, just let them bake puffed up, and got a softer cookie Everything worked out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustangFilly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A perfectly dependable recipe, and I mean that in the nicest way! This recipe made a nice batch of great oatmeal cookies. Very sweet, especially with the dates, but the cookies turn out very nice so to alter the sugar, flour/ oat ingredients might change the integrity of the cookie. Love that it uses whole wheat flour. I used unsalted butter and am glad I did as the cookies are plenty salty. I will use this recipe again and play around with some of the other suggestions made by other reviewers. (coconut oil, flax seeds, etc.) to make them even 'healthier'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
These are the best oatmeal cookies I have made, I followed most of the recipe but instead of dates, I used half a cup of original craisins & a half cup blueberry juice infused craisins, and 1/4 cup crushed almonds.. My new favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coronagirl89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These cookies were fabulous!! We used raisins instead of dates and did add some butterscotch chips. One word of caution....be sure to let the dough chill long enough. We formed the balls after only one hour of chilling and they got a bit sticky and gooey on our hands. We solved that my dipping our hands in flour before rolling each ball but chilling longer would have helped that. Can't wait to make them again and they are filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are DELISH!!! I used 1/2 coconut oil, 1/2 unsweetened applesauce, and Stevia in place of sugar. I didn't use dates nor nuts----but some butterscotch chips I had left over. So yummy. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
soft and yummy even the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnhunt

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkertown, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These cookies are fantastic! They are quite sweet - the butter, brown sugar and oats makes them taste similar to a crumble topping (great crumbled onto greek yogurt for dessert!). I would be interested in ways to reduce the sweetness (maybe replacing some of the sugar with apple sauce like the idea mentioned earlier) to make them a bit more savoury & healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used "egg beaters" instead of the eggs. I also used "Smart Balance" 50/50 omega spread in place of butter. I used 1 c dark chocolate chips instead of the dates. And I didn't chill the dough, just dropped them by tablespoonful on the cookie sheet and didn't press them down. Baked them 8 minutes. They were absolutely great. Next time, I'll sub some of the butter for unsweetened applesauce, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States