Healthier Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These are DELISH!!! I used 1/2 coconut oil, 1/2 unsweetened applesauce, and Stevia in place of sugar. I didn't use dates nor nuts----but some butterscotch chips I had left over. So yummy. I will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These cookies were fabulous!! We used raisins instead of dates and did add some butterscotch chips. One word of caution....be sure to let the dough chill long enough. We formed the balls after only one hour of chilling and they got a bit sticky and gooey on our hands. We solved that my dipping our hands in flour before rolling each ball but chilling longer would have helped that. Can't wait to make them again and they are filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
So here's what I did: 1) I added 1 cup of pecans to the mix 2) I did not chill the dough, just dropped it by teaspoonfuls onto the cookie sheet 3) Didn't press down the mounds of dough with a fork, just let them bake puffed up, and got a softer cookie Everything worked out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustangFilly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe using 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 natural peanut butter, then subbed out the white sugar for stevia, the white flour for coconut flour and the dates for mashed ripe banana. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used "egg beaters" instead of the eggs. I also used "Smart Balance" 50/50 omega spread in place of butter. I used 1 c dark chocolate chips instead of the dates. And I didn't chill the dough, just dropped them by tablespoonful on the cookie sheet and didn't press them down. Baked them 8 minutes. They were absolutely great. Next time, I'll sub some of the butter for unsweetened applesauce, as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A perfectly dependable recipe, and I mean that in the nicest way! This recipe made a nice batch of great oatmeal cookies. Very sweet, especially with the dates, but the cookies turn out very nice so to alter the sugar, flour/ oat ingredients might change the integrity of the cookie. Love that it uses whole wheat flour. I used unsalted butter and am glad I did as the cookies are plenty salty. I will use this recipe again and play around with some of the other suggestions made by other reviewers. (coconut oil, flax seeds, etc.) to make them even 'healthier'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
soft and yummy even the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnhunt

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkertown, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My changes: 1/4 cup stevia in place of 1/2 cup white sugar 3/4 cup raw coconut crystals in place of brown sugar 2 cups of all-purpose flour in place of 1 all-purpose and 1 whole wheat. I just ran out of whole wheat or I would have used it m 1/2 cup simply smart omega-3 spread and 1/2 cup apple sauce in place of 1 cup of butter 2/3 cup dates in place of 1 cup dates 3/4 cup of raisins Came out great! Picky the kid (3 yrs) loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These cookies are fantastic! They are quite sweet - the butter, brown sugar and oats makes them taste similar to a crumble topping (great crumbled onto greek yogurt for dessert!). I would be interested in ways to reduce the sweetness (maybe replacing some of the sugar with apple sauce like the idea mentioned earlier) to make them a bit more savoury & healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved the idea of a healthier oatmeal cookie recipe, so went ahead and made a little adjustments to this recipe hoping my family would like it. These are my changes: substituted butter with coconut oil, used 1 1/3 c brown sugar in place of both sugars, doubled the vanilla extract, reduced the all-purpose flour to 1/2 c, reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, omitted the cinnamon and dates, and added 1 c chopped pecans and 1/2 c raisins. The rest of the ingredients (eggs, baking soda & whole wheat flour) were kept the same as the original recipe. My family loved these!! :) I try to always have these already rolled into balls in the freezer, so I can just take them out of the freezer to room temp while the oven gets to 375F and bake them for 12 minutes, this way they are done but still a bit chewy and just delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States