Healthier Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made these as directed in the recipe (except for the fork trick...). The cookies turned out YUMMY!!! Soft and chewy, and I feel like I can eat them without feeling as bad lol I drizzled some chocolate on some of these, and melted vanilla on a few others. It turned out quite nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
These are great cookies - of course I made some adjustments, held back slightly on the oatmeal and added sesame seeds and toasted almonds to the same quantity. I did find this dough to be really crumbly - even after refrigerating it and so shaping it was really more a case of smushing it together. But it did bake into a very nice cookie. The sesame seeds really add something to it, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Fisher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dawnave
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Love this recipe! I added 2 TB cocoa powder and omitted 2 TB flour. Yummy chocolate dessert! Place in sealed container to keep them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very good classic oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved the idea of a healthier oatmeal cookie recipe, so went ahead and made a little adjustments to this recipe hoping my family would like it. These are my changes: substituted butter with coconut oil, used 1 1/3 c brown sugar in place of both sugars, doubled the vanilla extract, reduced the all-purpose flour to 1/2 c, reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, omitted the cinnamon and dates, and added 1 c chopped pecans and 1/2 c raisins. The rest of the ingredients (eggs, baking soda & whole wheat flour) were kept the same as the original recipe. My family loved these!! :) I try to always have these already rolled into balls in the freezer, so I can just take them out of the freezer to room temp while the oven gets to 375F and bake them for 12 minutes, this way they are done but still a bit chewy and just delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used 1/2 cup of crunchy peanut butter and 1/2 cup of butter and used raisins instead of dates. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This recipe lived up to it's name!!! I cup back on the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, and I added 3/4 cup of Mini-Dark Choc. Chips instead of Dates--Yummy!!! My family has asked for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Very tasty, but the dough was quite dry and crumbling. I used all white flour and raisins because that's what we had handy. I'll probably do this recipe again but next time will add a bit more liquid, maybe a few tablespoons of water or another egg. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
So good! I swapped half the butter for coconut oil. Next time I'll try swapping the rest of the butter for unsweetened applesauce, and I'd love to try these with some dark chocolate. Lots of possibilities - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made these, just substituted a 1/4c egg substitute for egg and 1/2 of the butter for apple sauce. They are chewy and thick, a good mini granola bar, but not a very appetizing soft cookie. Next time I'll try it per the recipe and adjust my review if they're better! Also, I made 1/2 the recipe with dates and 1/2 with chocolate chips - each 1/2 made 30 mini cookies that are 79 calories each if you enter the ingredients into myfitnesspal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States