Healthier Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I substituted half the butter and all of the eggs with one cup of canned pumpkin puree(1/4 c per egg + 1/2 c for the butter). I used stevia instead of the white sugar. Next time I will cut back on the stevia just a little. It's a little bit too sweet and I can barely taste the stevia. But the cookies are delicious. I'd like a little nutmeg with the pumpkin too. It will make a yummy breakfast cookie. Also I used whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great cookies! I made it even lower calorie by using Splenda brown sugar and land o lakes light butter. Also, I added 1 tbsp wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made these as directed in the recipe (except for the fork trick...). The cookies turned out YUMMY!!! Soft and chewy, and I feel like I can eat them without feeling as bad lol I drizzled some chocolate on some of these, and melted vanilla on a few others. It turned out quite nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
These are great cookies - of course I made some adjustments, held back slightly on the oatmeal and added sesame seeds and toasted almonds to the same quantity. I did find this dough to be really crumbly - even after refrigerating it and so shaping it was really more a case of smushing it together. But it did bake into a very nice cookie. The sesame seeds really add something to it, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Fisher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dawnave
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Love this recipe! I added 2 TB cocoa powder and omitted 2 TB flour. Yummy chocolate dessert! Place in sealed container to keep them soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very good classic oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved the idea of a healthier oatmeal cookie recipe, so went ahead and made a little adjustments to this recipe hoping my family would like it. These are my changes: substituted butter with coconut oil, used 1 1/3 c brown sugar in place of both sugars, doubled the vanilla extract, reduced the all-purpose flour to 1/2 c, reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, omitted the cinnamon and dates, and added 1 c chopped pecans and 1/2 c raisins. The rest of the ingredients (eggs, baking soda & whole wheat flour) were kept the same as the original recipe. My family loved these!! :) I try to always have these already rolled into balls in the freezer, so I can just take them out of the freezer to room temp while the oven gets to 375F and bake them for 12 minutes, this way they are done but still a bit chewy and just delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used 1/2 cup of crunchy peanut butter and 1/2 cup of butter and used raisins instead of dates. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This recipe lived up to it's name!!! I cup back on the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, and I added 3/4 cup of Mini-Dark Choc. Chips instead of Dates--Yummy!!! My family has asked for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Very tasty, but the dough was quite dry and crumbling. I used all white flour and raisins because that's what we had handy. I'll probably do this recipe again but next time will add a bit more liquid, maybe a few tablespoons of water or another egg. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States