Healthier Soft Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very good classic oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I loved the idea of a healthier oatmeal cookie recipe, so went ahead and made a little adjustments to this recipe hoping my family would like it. These are my changes: substituted butter with coconut oil, used 1 1/3 c brown sugar in place of both sugars, doubled the vanilla extract, reduced the all-purpose flour to 1/2 c, reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, omitted the cinnamon and dates, and added 1 c chopped pecans and 1/2 c raisins. The rest of the ingredients (eggs, baking soda & whole wheat flour) were kept the same as the original recipe. My family loved these!! :) I try to always have these already rolled into balls in the freezer, so I can just take them out of the freezer to room temp while the oven gets to 375F and bake them for 12 minutes, this way they are done but still a bit chewy and just delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used 1/2 cup of crunchy peanut butter and 1/2 cup of butter and used raisins instead of dates. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This recipe lived up to it's name!!! I cup back on the brown sugar to 1/2 cup, and I added 3/4 cup of Mini-Dark Choc. Chips instead of Dates--Yummy!!! My family has asked for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Very tasty, but the dough was quite dry and crumbling. I used all white flour and raisins because that's what we had handy. I'll probably do this recipe again but next time will add a bit more liquid, maybe a few tablespoons of water or another egg. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
So good! I swapped half the butter for coconut oil. Next time I'll try swapping the rest of the butter for unsweetened applesauce, and I'd love to try these with some dark chocolate. Lots of possibilities - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made these, just substituted a 1/4c egg substitute for egg and 1/2 of the butter for apple sauce. They are chewy and thick, a good mini granola bar, but not a very appetizing soft cookie. Next time I'll try it per the recipe and adjust my review if they're better! Also, I made 1/2 the recipe with dates and 1/2 with chocolate chips - each 1/2 made 30 mini cookies that are 79 calories each if you enter the ingredients into myfitnesspal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pitoune's cooking
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
These are very good! And I also feel good with this recipe as being a healthier version of greasier oatmeal cookies. And even with this being a lighter version I still cut out 1/4 cup of brown sugar and doubled on cinnamon and vanilla. Also added 1 cup or roasted walnuts that I roughly chopped up for my husband and on the 2nd batch I added 3/4 cup of roasted almonds roughly chopped for myself and my 5 year old daughter. This is a go to recipe when we crave oatmeal cookies!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Roommates loved this! Healthy tasting but still sweet and comforting at night with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My changes: 1/4 cup stevia in place of 1/2 cup white sugar 3/4 cup raw coconut crystals in place of brown sugar 2 cups of all-purpose flour in place of 1 all-purpose and 1 whole wheat. I just ran out of whole wheat or I would have used it m 1/2 cup simply smart omega-3 spread and 1/2 cup apple sauce in place of 1 cup of butter 2/3 cup dates in place of 1 cup dates 3/4 cup of raisins Came out great! Picky the kid (3 yrs) loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States