Healthier Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe was okay. I probably won't use it again. I added some mushrooms and thyme to the recipe, but there still wasn't a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Great quick recipe for crock pot! I omitted the butter, by accident, and it still tasted great. I seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and then shredded it before adding peas and dumplings at the end. Had to cook the dough a little longer, 40min, and still had a few raw dumplings. All in all a good recipe, will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linz680

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good basic recipe. If I ever try it again I will probably add some spices since I found it a bit bland. It's very kid-friendly, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It was great... I made added a few more things such as spices and celery. I also cooked it for 8 hrs on low and turned it on high for the last hour for the dumplings. They came out perfectly cooked. The chicken was so soft it shredded it self when I stirred in the peas. Great recipe would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
First, I didn't follow the recipe exactly but think I got the "flavor" it was going for. Completely forgot the butter and, honestly, I don't think that you need it. I added carrots at the beginning with everything else--it was fine. I also added some chopped celery to sneak in one more veggie. As written, it is a good basic recipe. I think it needs something more. Next time, I think I'll add spices as I thought it was very bland. The whole family ate it without complaints. Husband took leftovers for lunch. I'll try it again with some tweaking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Tasted great! I did modify a bit, used frozen pearl onions and added baby gold potatoes. Also, sprinkled the biscuits with shredded cheese and baked them then served the stew open face on the biscuits. Great comfort food on a cold December SoCal night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fillmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
good base recipe, but i add to add some chicken broth to it to make it more "soupy" and seasonings to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brujah42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
We'd baked a whole chicken a few nights earlier, so I just shredded the leftovers in the crockpot. I added carrots, celery, onion, garlic and basil for the veggies, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, and vegetable stock. Before I added the buscuit dough I tasted the soup and it was a bit bland, so I added oregano, more basil, and extra salt and pepper. Perfect! I put the buscuit dough in and left it on low for another 2 hours (cooked 10 hours total). Perfect! The boyfriend has been eating all the leftovers for his lunches all week he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I want to review this recipe while it's still fresh in my mind. Thanks to all who reviewed this; you gave me suggestions I might not have considered had I gone AS IS. I didn't shred the breasts, but as the pieces were so large, I cut them into thirds and fourths. After rinsing and drying, I rubbed them in various herbs and spices: Kosher salt, fresh ground pepper; dried parsley, sage, tarragon, thyme, marjoram, Greek oregano, garlic powder; a dash of paprika, and to give it a tiny bit of heat, some red pepper flakes, then let it "marinade' 2 hours. I passed on the butter and used one of the new "Knorr" stock additives. I only had beef, but figured with the cream of chicken, the flavors would hopefully blend; this went in at the point I should have added butter. I used half a yellow onion and three scallions, plus 4 small cloves of garlic. One thing the recipe doesn't mention is to check the crock pot; 5 hours before adding the carrots may be too long. I'm glad I checked mine as the chicken and 'gravy' stock was ready. I added the carrots (which I lightly sprinkled with Kosher salt, pepper, thyme) then a 20-ounce can of Pillsbury reduced-fat 'Grands'. Having read that some of the dumplings were raw even after 40 minutes, I went with an hour for the final cooking time; put the crock pot on WARM, then added the frozen peas. A green salad and a Texas Gewürztraminer accompanied it all. Perfect for a winter night in KY. I'll definitely do this again, my way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe! However, you do have to add liquid... I added a cup or so of water and should have added more. Also used whole wheat low-fat biscuits and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States