Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The best soup ever... It was so good, we didn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was really looking forward to trying this soup. I used 2 cans of tomatoes diced with chili peppers included. I drained them to get some of the sodium out. This added more spice and it went well with the lowfat sour cream. I didn't use the banana peppers but at the end I cut a lime and added the juice from half the lime. The second time I made this I added black beans. This recipe is great to add new things to. I will use this soup a lot everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I took the recommendations of others and put the chicken breasts (frozen) into the slow cooker. I then cooked it all on high for 6 hours. When it was done, I shredded the chicken while it was still in the cooker. I also replaced the banana peppers with a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies and added a 15 oz can of drained/rinsed black beans to the mix. As others have mentioned, this makes a great meal when served over 1/2 cup of brown rice. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this soup tonight and its a HUGE hit in my house. Especially for my 11 year old grandson who is a very picky eater. I did change some things. Instead of the canned tomatoes and the banana peppers, I added 2 cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with mild jalapenos. I used vegetable broth because it had very little sodium in it. I also made homemade enchilada sauce for the same reason, to reduce the sodium. This will be a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe, and so does my husband and my very young toddler. I use almost twice the chicken, canned green chilis since my grocery store doesn't carry banana peppers, and I add a can of black beans. Keep a close eye on those tortilla strips though, because in just ten minutes, mine were way too brown to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great recipe! I actually used frozen chicken breasts and pull them apart when it is done cooking. Easier for my busy schedule! You would never know this recipe is the "healthy" version because it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Oh Wow!! Love love loved this one!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This soup is amazing!!! You can reduce the sodium used by mashing 4 medium tomatoes yourself instead of using canned tomatoes. The same goes with the corn and I also added a half cup of cooked black beans (which was in the can) and then, instead of using enchilada sauce I used 1/4 a cup of chili sauce to spice it up (use only if you like it spicy though and reduce the amount as necessary)...I also added two tables spoons of tomato paste to thicken it up, it’s absolutely delicious!!!! Garnish with ff cheese and sour crème then sprinkle little chips...hmmm good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
A family favorite. One of the tastiest healthier slow cooker recipes I've tried yet. Very simple and delicious. Makes great leftovers, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Made this last night, stove top instead of slow cooker. It was AWESOME! I did make some changes tho. Used left-over cooked chicken that I shredded, used a can of diced tomato with green chili's instead of whole tomatoes, used all chicken broth instead of broth and water, and used a Serrano pepper sliced thin, with ribs and seeds, instead of banana peppers. Spicy! I used Ancho chili powder instead of generic chili powder. I also upped the measurements of the chili powder and cumin to 1 tablespoon each, and added a tablespoon of ground corriander because I didn't have fresh cilantro. I also just bought the tortilla strips that are sold in the salad dressing isle, instead of buying a whole pack of corn tortillas that I would only use 7 of. Got the chili/lime flavored ones, and they were great! Also, when I served the soup, I served it with lime wedges to squeeze over the soup. Very nice touch. My husband loved it, and I see this becoming a regular soup in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tawnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States