Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I loved the soup with the few twists: Used crushed tomatos as a substitute, added roasted green chiles (about 3/4 cup), a lot more spice--Mrs Dash's Southwest Chipotle, chili powder, a lot more garlic, omited salt, Chipotle seasoning plain, crushed red pepper (a lot)--basically had fun with the spices. I only used broth and added what I wanted to get the right consistency for us. Great recipe!!! Thank you!!! Sunny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added about a cup of red beans & also used diced tomatoes. Healthier substitute: whole wheat tortillas vs corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried the recipe exactly as it said with two exceptions. Instead of using water, I used all low-sodium chicken broth and instead of banana peppers I used chopped chiles from a can. Im glad I did these 2 substitutions because the flavor was still pretty mild. My husband loved it (better than the thick stew style I've tried in the past with beans). I want to see it be a bit spicier and will be using hot enchilada sauce, hotter jalapeño chiles and potentially sautéing my onions prior to throwing in the crockpot. Overall wonderfully refreshing and easy dish and I cant wait to try again with some spicier tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very good soup. Made with all Chicken Broth instead of water, used jalapenos instead of banana peppers and stewed tomatoes instead of whole canned tomatoes. Next time I make this I will use chicken thighs instead of breast, just personal preference. Also no review of the tortilla strips since I didn't make those (I know it’s chicken tortilla soup with no tortillas, lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I thought this recipe had great flavor and was very easy to prepare. My his and who is skeptic of healthy recipes thought it was delicious and the baked tortilla strips were a big hit for my 5 year old! I did out the chicken breasts in whole and then when they were cooked took them out and chopped them. Seemed easier to cut and less mess. This recipe has been made several times and also freezes well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoppin4health

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Delecioso!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a family favorite recipe. I make this soup all the time. It's quick and easy yet tastes like I slaved all day in the kitchen. I do substitute chicken broth for the water. In fact I just dump in a 32 oz box of chicken broth. I also omit the banana peppers (I don't like banana peppers) and so instead I add a pinch of dried pepper flakes for the kick. Otherwise I make the recipe exactly as written and I always make a double batch each time. Everyone who tries this recipe loves it and wants the recipe. Thanks so much for a healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This has a decent calorie count, for those who are watching, and excellent flavor. It has just the right amount of heat to add interest, but not pain! I let it go on high in the slow cooker for 3 hours, and the chicken was done, and the veggies were still crunchy, just the way I like them! It has a light, fresh taste, and it is a recipe worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Loved it! Added carrots and celery and used diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. Topped it with Pepper Jack cheese, chips and avocado. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I added some tomitillos and used pasilla peppers for a spicier soup as well as a some fresh oregano and kafir lime leaves. I strongly suggest you roast a chicken stuffed with a lime and use what's not meat to make broth. Remove the fat from the broth and use in place of water. A very nice soup that goes great with corn bread, fresh cilantro, avacado, & fresh limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATDAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States