Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Delecioso!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a family favorite recipe. I make this soup all the time. It's quick and easy yet tastes like I slaved all day in the kitchen. I do substitute chicken broth for the water. In fact I just dump in a 32 oz box of chicken broth. I also omit the banana peppers (I don't like banana peppers) and so instead I add a pinch of dried pepper flakes for the kick. Otherwise I make the recipe exactly as written and I always make a double batch each time. Everyone who tries this recipe loves it and wants the recipe. Thanks so much for a healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This has a decent calorie count, for those who are watching, and excellent flavor. It has just the right amount of heat to add interest, but not pain! I let it go on high in the slow cooker for 3 hours, and the chicken was done, and the veggies were still crunchy, just the way I like them! It has a light, fresh taste, and it is a recipe worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Loved it! Added carrots and celery and used diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes. Topped it with Pepper Jack cheese, chips and avocado. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I added some tomitillos and used pasilla peppers for a spicier soup as well as a some fresh oregano and kafir lime leaves. I strongly suggest you roast a chicken stuffed with a lime and use what's not meat to make broth. Remove the fat from the broth and use in place of water. A very nice soup that goes great with corn bread, fresh cilantro, avacado, & fresh limes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATDAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The best soup ever... It was so good, we didn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was really looking forward to trying this soup. I used 2 cans of tomatoes diced with chili peppers included. I drained them to get some of the sodium out. This added more spice and it went well with the lowfat sour cream. I didn't use the banana peppers but at the end I cut a lime and added the juice from half the lime. The second time I made this I added black beans. This recipe is great to add new things to. I will use this soup a lot everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I took the recommendations of others and put the chicken breasts (frozen) into the slow cooker. I then cooked it all on high for 6 hours. When it was done, I shredded the chicken while it was still in the cooker. I also replaced the banana peppers with a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies and added a 15 oz can of drained/rinsed black beans to the mix. As others have mentioned, this makes a great meal when served over 1/2 cup of brown rice. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this soup tonight and its a HUGE hit in my house. Especially for my 11 year old grandson who is a very picky eater. I did change some things. Instead of the canned tomatoes and the banana peppers, I added 2 cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with mild jalapenos. I used vegetable broth because it had very little sodium in it. I also made homemade enchilada sauce for the same reason, to reduce the sodium. This will be a regular on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe, and so does my husband and my very young toddler. I use almost twice the chicken, canned green chilis since my grocery store doesn't carry banana peppers, and I add a can of black beans. Keep a close eye on those tortilla strips though, because in just ten minutes, mine were way too brown to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States